Two athletes, one coach to be inducted into UVic Sports Hall of Fame in April

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Ali Lee, Vikes Communications

February 6, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The University of Victoria will induct two former student-athletes and one former coach into the University of Victoria Sports Hall of Fame on April 3 at the annual Celebration of Champions banquet.

UVic cross-country and track runner Silverado Socrates, formerly Brenda Shackleton, raced for the Vikes from 1985-88 and led the Vikes to three consecutive CIS and Canada West cross-country titles (1985-87). Socrates was honoured with almost every single accolade including UVic’s Rookie and Athlete of the Year awards, CIS cross-country Athlete of the Year and CIS All-Canadian honours for three-straight seasons. Socrates also set multiple records on the track, some of which still stand to date.

Women’s soccer goalkeeper Nicci Wright competed for the Vikes from 1992-96, under long-time coach Ian Bridge. After a varsity career in which she was the Vikes’ starting keeper from 1993-95, Wright went on to a prolific international career. Wright earned 36 caps with Canada and recorded 11 shutouts, the third most in Canadian national women’s soccer history. From 1996-99, Wright set a national record for goalkeepers, making 16 consecutive appearances for Canada. Wright also competed for the Vancouver Whitecaps, overseas in the Swedish Women’s League and for the Washington Freedom in the United Soccer Association.

Being inducted into the builder category is Dr. Derek Ellis, who coached the cross-country and track distance program from its official inception in 1964 until 1973. In addition to coaching, Ellis was an associate professor in the biology department and was involved in the initiation of the first 24-hour relay event, now an annual event at Centennial Stadium. Ellis also played a key role in the hosting of the 1973 national cross-country championship at UVic. Ellis was a very accomplished and competitive runner until injury prevented him from competing in the 1980 World Masters Games.

Members of the community looking to submit nominations to the UVic Sports Hall of Fame may e-mail for an application form or visit  for details.

Tickets will be available for the Vikes Celebration of Champions, which includes the Hall of Fame inductions combined with the Vikes annual Athletics Awards to recognize the outstanding achievements of UVic student-athletes over the past year. Tickets are $80 per person (plus GST). For more information please contact Janine Prince by phone at (250) 472-4772 or via e-mail:


Hall of Fame Class of 2012

Michael Edgson, Swimming

Lynne Beecroft, Field Hockey

1981-82 Women’s Basketball team

Hall of Fame Class of 2011

Greg Streppel, Swimming

Eric Hinrichsen, Basketball

1970-71 Men’s Rugby Team

Hall of Fame Class of 2010

Laurelee Kopeck, Field Hockey

Tracie McAra (Sibbald), Basketball

Hall of Fame Class of 2009

Kelly Dukeshire, Basketball

Carey Nelson, Cross Country

1983 Men’s Rowing, Varsity Eight

Hall of Fame Class of 2007

Gary Dukelow, Rugby

Robyn Meagher, Cross Country/Track

Deb Whitten, Field Hockey

Hall of Fame Class of 2006

Kirsten Barnes, Rowing

Gerald Kazanowski, Basketball

Luanne Krawetz (Hebb), Basketball

Howard Petch, Builder

1975 Men’s Soccer, Team

Hall of Fame Class of 2005

Rochelle Low, Field Hockey

Robbie Parris, Basketball

Eli Pasquale, Basketball

Pam Rai, Swimming

Mark Wyatt, Rugby

Hall of Fame Class of 2004

Jon Kelly, Swimming

Al Morrow, Rowing

Debbie Scott, Cross Country/Track

1984-85 Women’s Field Hockey, Team

Hall of Fame Class of 2003

Howard Gerwing, Rugby

Nancy Mollenhauer (Charlton), Field Hockey

Derek Porter, Rowing

1979-80 Men’s Basketball, Team

Hall of Fame Class of 2002

Lorne Loomer, Rowing

Wally Milligan, Soccer

Gareth Rees, Rugby

Ken Shields, Basketball

Kathy Shields, Basketball