February 9, 2013, Fort McMurray, Alta (ISN) – The all-stars and other award winners at the 2013 M&M Meat Shops Canadian Junior Men’s and Women’s Curling Championships were announced on Friday at the awards banquet at MacDonald Island Park in Fort McMurray.


(determined by shooting percentages during the round robin)


First Team

  • Skip — Corryn Brown, British Columbia (74 per cent) *
  • Third — Chelsea Duncan, Yukon (77 per cent)
  • Second — Sheyna Andries, Manitoba (74 per cent) *
  • Lead — Katie Roskewich, Alberta (78 per cent)

Second Team

  • Skip — Sarah Koltun, Yukon (74 per cent)
  • Third — Holly Donaldson, Ontario (71 per cent)
  • Second — Megan Westlund, Northern Ontario (74 per cent)
  • Lead — Katie Fullerton, Prince Edward Island (77 per cent)


First Team

  • Skip — Thomas Scoffin, Alberta (78 per cent)
  • Third — Colton Lott, Manitoba (79 per cent)
  • Second — David Easter, Ontario (82 per cent)
  • Lead — Andrew O’Dell, New Brunswick (82 per cent)

Second Team

  • Skip — Stuart Thompson, Nova Scotia (76 per cent)
  • Third — Aaron Squires, Ontario (77 per cent)
  • Second — Daniel Grant, Manitoba (81 per cent)
  • Lead — Brendan MacCuish, Manitoba (80 per cent)

*In the case of a percentage tie, the all-star position goes to the player with the highest plus/minus for the week (a player receives a +1 for every game in which he/she outcurls the positional opponent by five per cent or more). Should they still be tied, the pre-event draw to the button results are used to determine the all-star.

Ken Watson Sportsmanship Awards

(voted by the players)

Women – Sheree Hinz, Northern Ontario

Men – Landon Bucholz, Alberta

Fair Play Awards

(selected by the Officials)


  • Lead — Andrew Taylor, Newfoundland/Labrador
  • Second — Sanjay Bowry, British Columbia
  • Third — Jamie Airut, Nunavut
  • Skip — Will Mahoney, Yukon
  • Coach — Benoit Forget, Quebec


  • Lead — Sydney Fraser, British Columbia
  • Second — Teresa Waterfield, Saskatchewan
  • Third — Sheree Hinz, Northern Ontario
  • Skip — Sadie Pinksen, Nunavut
  • Coach — Lynn Kreviazuk, Nunavut

ASHAM National Coaching Awards

(voted by the coaches)

Women – Mark Noseworthy, Newfoundland/Labrador

Men – Tim Warkentin, Northern Ontario

Joan Mead Legacy Awards

(selected by the event officials)

($500 scholarship)

Women – Tirzah Keffer, Northern Ontario

Men – Jonathan Schut, Prince Edward Island