February 8, 2013, (ISN) – The Victoria Island Junior Hockey League is gearing up for the VIJHL Wild Card Game next weekend February 17th at Bear Mountain Arena.

VIJHL Wild Card Game

  • Sunday February 17th 2013
  • Bear Mountain Arena
  • Game Time 1:30pm
  • Home Team: Campbell River Storm vs
  • Visitors: Kerry Park Islanders

Please ensure that this document is passed on to your clubs appropriate staff and that the game is also advertised at your remaining games.

*This is however the first circulated draft and maybe subject to change*

Itinerary for Game:

  • Doors open at 1pm
  • Pre-game anthem 1:26
  • First Period puck drop at 1:30pm

At the conclusion of the first period

  • 10 minute Game Minor Hockey
  • Ice Clean
  • Puck drop – Second Period

At the conclusion of the second period

  • Rubber puck toss – prize
  • Start third period

End of Game

  • Handshake
  • Players of both teams align on their respective blue lines for start of ceremony, then on to team benches.
  • Awards Ceremony will commence with a congratulatory note to both teams after a quick set up of trophies – table – red carpet

Trophies will be handed out in the following order :

Andy Hebenton Trophy (Regular Season League Champion)

Grant Peart Memorial Trophy (Most Disciplined Team)

Chek 6 -King and Haysom Award (Broadcaster Of The Year)

Doug Morton Trophy (League Point Leader)

Ray’s Sports Centre Trophy (Top Goaltender)

Jack Kingston Memorial Trophy (Top Defenceman)

Brian Harrison Award (Top Forward)

Eddie Kingston Trophy (Coach of the Year)

Jamie Robertson Trophy (Sportsmanship and Ability)

Walt McWilliams Memorial Trophy (Unsung Hero)

Larry Lamoureaux Trophy (Rookie of the Year)

Jamie Benn Trophy (Wilsons Transportation) (League MVP)

*Bob Saunders Community Leadership Award (Bob Saunders)(Team Leadership)

*New Award

When players are called down they are to enter on to the ice from the penalty box. Accept the award get as well as the individual keeper. All award winners will remain on the ice until ceremony complete. (Photos by Gordon Lee Photography)


Free entry to:

  • All media
  • Scouts
  • All VIJHL one ice officials
  • VIJHL pass list
  • Award presenters who are guests of League

Five Dollar Entry:

Fans from both CR and KP- they must be sporting their home teams’ colours. (any team merchandise)

Twitter followers – via a pass word given at 1pm