VIJHL Hands Out End of Year Awards


Story and All Photos by Christian J. Stewart (ISN)

February 18, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – Following the completion of the Wild Card playoff game on Sunday, the Vancouver Island Junior Hockey League handed out their annual awards and it was the Victoria Cougars and their Captain Brody Coulter leading the way with the most hardware, including the Regular Season Championship Trophy, Leading Scorer and Most Valuable Player. 

Photos of all award winners are presented below.

IMG 9969
Members of the Victoria Cougars accept their regular season championship banner and trophy. 


IMG 9973
Members of the Nanaimo Buccaneers accept the award for Grant Peart Memorial Trophy for Most Disciplined Team.

IMG 9976
Dom Abassi of the Oceanside Generals receives the CHEK King and Haysom Broadcaster of the Year award.

IMG 9978
The Victoria Cougar’s Brody Coulter (centre) receives the Doug Morton Trophy as the Regular Season Scoring Champion.

IMG 9981
Tanner McGaw of the Saanich Braves (centre) receives the Bruce Naylor Goaltender Trophy as the VIJHL Goaltender of the Year.

IMG 9985
Garett Kemmler of the Saanich Braves (centre) receives the Jack Kingston Memorial Trophy for Top Defenceman.

IMG 9988
Ty Jones of the Saanich Braves (right) receives the Brian Harrison Award for Top Forward.

IMG 9992
Head Coach Brad Knight of the Nanaimo Buccaneers (left) receives the Eddie Kingston Award as Coach of the Year.

IMG 9994
Mark Walton of the Victoria Cougars (left) receives the Walt McWilliams Memorial Trophy for Unsung Hero.

IMG 9995
Garrett Dunlop of the Nanaimo Buccaneers (centre) receives the Larry Lamoureaux Award as Rookie of the Year.

IMG 9998
Brody Coulter of the Victoria Cougars (second from left) receives the Jamie Benn Trophy as the Laegue’s Most Valuable Player.

IMG 0002
Community Leadership Awards were presented to players from each team including Cody Brightenstien, Nick Tupper, Riley Medves, Travis Flug, Braedon Behan, Seamus Maguire, Sam Rice, Scott Salberg and Eric Mansueti.

IMG 0004
Official of the Year Awards were presented to Steve Brown (second from left), Mike Christians (centre) and Jeff MacAdams (second from right).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!