Vikes rookie Hall announced as Sport BC High School award finalist

uvic logo web

By Vikes Communications, with files from BC Rugby Union

February 18, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – Castaway Wanderers youth product and Glenlyon Norfolk graduate Fergus Hall has been announced as a finalist for the Sport BC High School Male Athlete of the Year Award.

A standout in soccer and rugby, Hall was named one of three top male athletes along with Vancouver’s Pharmvir Dhesi (Wrestling) and Kelowna’s Braxton Bunce (Basketball) for his accomplishments during the 2011-12 season. Hall is currently a first-year rugby player for the University of Victoria Vikes team and is enrolled in the UVic Engineering program.

Hall excelled on the rugby pitch in 2012 with both the provincial XVs and Sevens programs. A standout in the BC Rugby Academy, Hall was instrumental in seeing British Columbia’s U18 XVs side defend their title at nationals in Sherbrooke, Quebec this past August.

With the BC Elite Youth Sevens program, Hall was a key figure in the U18s going undefeated to lift three youth international titles in Las Vegas, Hong Kong and Victoria. During the Las Vegas cup final against national side High School All-Americans, Hall produced a flawless kicking performance going 5-for-5 in conversion attempts to see off the Americans 35-14.

Also nominated is former UVic swimmer Ryan Cochrane (Victoria, B.C.) in the category of Senior Male Athlete of the Year. Cochrane raced to a silver medal at the 2012 London Olympic Games in the 1,500-m freestyle swim.

Sport BC Media Release

The Athlete of the Year Awards ceremony and gala dinner, set for March 7, 2013 at the River Rock Show Theatre in Richmond BC, recognizes BC’s best amateur athletes, coaches, and officials in 17 categories. Each finalist was nominated by their Provincial Sport Organization, high school or university, and selected by a committee of BC sportswriters, broadcasters, athletes and amateur sport experts.

“A significant number of very strong nominations were received this year,” said Sport BC’s President and CEO, Rob Newman. “The Athlete of the Year Awards provides a great opportunity to recognize these talented and deserving athletes, coaches and officials. This year’s nominees are certainly a testament to the strength and depth of sport in our province.”

The 47th Annual Athlete of the Year Award Finalists:

Athlete with a Disability

Josh Dueck (Vernon, BC) – Alpine Ski

Trevor Hirschfield (Vancouver, BC) – Wheelchair Rugby

Michelle Stilwell (Parksville, BC) – Wheelchair Athletics

Coach of the Year

Randy Bennett (Victoria, BC) – Swimming

Rob Kober (Penticton, BC) – Freestyle Moguls

Peter Lawless (Victoria, BC) – Wheelchair Sports

College Athlete of the Year

Kayla Bruce (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball

Jenna Ralston (Mission, BC) – Basketball

Jen Woods (Kelowna, BC) – Golf

High School Female Athlete of the Year

Maddie Secco (Victoria, BC) – Field Hockey, Soccer, Cross Country and Track & Field

Chelsea Strandlund (Victoria, BC) – Volleyball, Soccer, Basketball, Softball

Emma Wolfram (Kamloops, BC) – Basketball

High School Male Athlete of the Year

Braxton Bunce (Kelowna, BC) – Basketball

Pharmvir Dhesi (Vancouver, BC) – Wrestling

Fergus Hall (Victoria, BC) – Rugby, Soccer

Junior Female Athlete of the Year

Shallon Olsen (Surrey, BC) – Gymnastics

Julia Ransom (Kelowna, BC) – Biathlon

Haley Stradling (Langley, BC) – Equestrian

Junior Male Athlete of the Year

Filip Peliwo (North Vancouver, BC) – Tennis

Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC) – Hockey

Adam Svensson (Surrey, BC) – Golf

Master Athlete of the Year

Christa Bortignon (West Vancouver, BC) – Athletics

Sandra Hewson (Surrey, BC) – Judo

Stephanie Kieffer (Vancouver, BC) – Triathlon

Official of the Year

Len Kirby (Nanaimo, BC) – Equestrian

Terry Mosdell (Surrey, BC) – Lacrosse

Pat Smith (Kamloops, BC) – Hockey

Senior Female Athlete of the Year

Christine Girard (White Rock, BC) – Weightlifting

Christine Sinclair (Burnaby, BC) – Soccer

Marielle Thompson (Whistler, BC) – Ski-Cross

Senior Male Athlete of the Year

Ryan Cochrane (Victoria, BC) – Swimming

Ryder Hsejedal (Victoria, BC) – Cycling

Denny Morrison (Fort St. John, BC) – Speed Skating

Team of the Year

Penticton Vees (Penticton, BC) – Hockey

TWU Men’s Volleyball Team (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball

UBC Women’s Swim Team (Vancouver, BC) – Swimming

University Athlete of the Year

Ben Ball (Abbotsford, BC) – Volleyball

Savannah King (Kamloops, BC) – Swimming

Kyla Richey (Vancouver, BC) – Volleyball

Other awards presented at the ceremony include Best of BC, Community Champion, Harry Jerome Comeback and the Daryl Thompson Lifetime Achievement Award.