Lanz Brothers Named Recipients of the WHL Distinguished Service Award

WHL Logo

Cory Flett

February 22, 2013 Calgary, AB (ISN) – Ron Robison, Commissioner of the Western Hockey League, announced today, on behalf of the WHL Board of Governors, further recipients of the WHL Distinguished Service Award for the 2012 – 13 season.

The 2012 – 13 WHL Distinguished Service Award remaining recipients are Balzer, Frank, John and Tony Lanz, longtime off-ice officials for the Medicine Hat Tigers.

The four Lanz brothers began their minor official duties with the Tigers during the Club’s inaugural season in 1970-71 and have been serving as part of the off-ice officials crew for 43 years. John and Frank can still be seen working Tigers games while Balzer and Tony have retired from their game-day duties but remain loyal season ticket holders. All four Lanz brothers, whether it be working or watching games, are tremendous fans of the Tigers and the Western Hockey League.

“The Lanz brothers have been a fixture as minor officials in Medicine Hat since the Tigers franchise joined the WHL in 1970-71,” commented WHL Commissioner Ron Robison. “Given their remarkable dedication and commitment to the Medicine Hat Tigers and the Western Hockey League over the past 43 seasons, it is only fitting they receive the WHL Distinguished Service Award.”

“The entire Medicine Hat Tigers organization would like to congratulate Balzer, Frank, John and Tony on receiving this very prestigious award from the Western Hockey League,” stated Tigers’ President Darrell Maser. “The Lanz brothers have been an institution amongst our off ice officials from the inception of our club. Their dedication and professionalism of being associated with the Tigers for the past 43 years is indeed worthy of the Lanz brothers being recognized as recipients of the 2012-13 WHL Distinguished Service Award.”

This past January the WHL also recognized longtime billet coordinator for the Red Deer Rebels, Judy Seher, as a 2012 – 13 WHL Distinguished Service Award recipient.

The WHL Distinguished Service Award, which the WHL introduced during in 2004 – 05, is presented annually to an individual associated with the WHL who has made an extraordinary contribution over an extended period of time at the Club or League level.

WHL Commissioner Ron Robison will be in Medicine Hat this Saturday, February 23, to present the Lanz brothers with the honor as part of the pre-game ceremonies.

Previous recipients of the WHL Distinguished Service Award include:

Rose Mary Hartney (Moose Jaw Warriors – Education Advisor); Greg ‘Spike’ Wallace (Kamloops Blazers – Community & Sponsorship Coordinator); Nella Rounsville (Kootenay Ice – Education Advisor); Lorne Frey (Kelowna Rockets – Asst GM/Head Scout); Graham Tuer (Saskatchewan Hockey Association – Volunteer); Jann Boss (Portland Winterhawks – Administration); Ruth “Grams” Pollock (Prince Albert Raiders Billet Coordinator); Dr. Ian Hill (Regina Pats Team Doctor); Dr. Alfred Blue (Seattle Thunderbirds Team Doctor); Doris Rubel (Kamloops Blazers Billet Coordinator); Colleen MacBean (Swift Current Broncos Education Advisor); and Bob Ridley (Medicine Hat Tigers Play-By-Play Announcer).