Cougars’ Kelly Wiebe, Spartans’ Emma Nuttall named Performers of the Meet


February 24, 2013, Edmonton, AB (ISN) – The Canada West track and field championships concluded on Saturday afternoon at the Regina Fieldhouse, a two-day event hosted by the University of Regina.

The Saskatchewan Huskies won a gold medal in the men’s team event to earn the R.E. DuWors Trophy, followed by host Regina with the silver and Manitoba the bronze. On the women’s side, the Calgary Dinos claimed the Eleanor Haslam Trophy and conference banner, with Trinity Western and Saskatchewan also earning podium finishes.

Individual awards were handed out on Saturday evening, where top prize as Performers of the Meet went to Regina’s Kelly Wiebe, a three-time Canada West cross country Athlete of the Year best known for his gold medal performance at the 2012 CIS cross country meet, and Trinity Western star Emma Nuttall.

In addition to top overall performers, awards were presented for top track performers and field performers. Female Outstanding Track Performer was Jenna Westaway, Calgary and the male equivalent went to Calum Innes of Trinity Western. Rachel Machin of Calgary was selected female Outstanding Field Performer, while Lex Ewen from Regina was the men’s winner.

Female Rookie of the Year honours went to Jenna Westaway of the Calgary Dinos, who received her second year-end award, with the Lethbridge Pronghorns’ Peter Millman earning top male rookie.

Moving forward as Canada West nominees for the Student-Athlete and Community Service Award are Alison Jackson from Trinity Western and Ian McLellan of Lethbridge.

Coaches of the Year were identical to 2012, as Joanne McTaggert of Saskatchewan and Calgary’s Doug Lamont once again received honours, but this time the awards were reversed. Last year, McTaggert was top women’s team coach and Lamont top male coach, while this year they traded trophies. It marks the fifth time that Lamont has been named Coach of the Year and the fourth such honour for McTaggert.



1. Saskatchewan 91

2. Regina 78

3. Mantioba 64

4. Victoria 61

5. Calgary 44

6. Trinity Western 34

7. Alberta 22

8. Lethbridge 15


1. Calgary 122

2. Trinity Western 70

3. Saskatchewan 53

4. Alberta 49

5. Regina 47

6. Victoria 43

7t. Lethbridge 12

7t. Manitoba 12

Here are the 2013 Canada West track & field award winners:

Female Team (Eleanor Haslam Trophy): Calgary Dinos

Male Team (R.E. DuWors Trophy): Saskatchewan Huskies

Outstanding Female Performance of the Meet: Emma Nuttall, Trinity Western

Outstanding Male Performance of the Meet: Kelly Wiebe, Regina

Female Outstanding Track Performer: Jenna Westaway, Calgary

Male Outstanding Track Performer: Calum Innes, Trinity Western

Female Outstanding Field Performer: Rachel Machin, Calgary

Male Outstanding Field Performer: Lex Ewen, Regina

Female Student-Athlete and Community Service Award: Alison Jackson, Trinity Western

Male Student-Athlete and Community Service Award: Ian McLellan, Regina

Female Rookie: Jenna Westaway, Calgary

Male Rookie: Peter Millman, Lethbridge

Women’s Team Coach of the Year: Doug Lamont, Calgary

Men’s Team Coach of the Year: Joanne McTaggart, Saskatchewan

Individual champions are First Team Canada West All-Stars, while runners-up form the Second Team.


60-metre dash: Katrina Martin, Alberta (7.56 s)

300-metre dash: Morgan Sawatzky, Saskatchewan (39.49 s)

600-metre run: Jenna Westaway, Calgary (1:30.00)

1000-metre run: Amanda Banks, Saskatchewan (2:51.27)

1500-metre run: Brittany Therrien, Victoria (4:34.32)

3000-metre run: Alison Jackson, Trinity Western (10:04.05)

60-metre hurdles: Kathryn McCaffrey, Alberta (8:60 s)

4×200-metre relay: Alberta (1:40.10)

4×400-metre relay: Calgary (3:45.19)

4×800-metre relay: Victoria (8:46.94)

High jump: Emma Nuttall, Trinity Western (1.85m)

Pole vault: Kimberly Stephenson, Calgary (4.00m)

Long jump: Rachel Machin, Calgary (5.87m)

Triple jump: Courtney Wilkes, Alberta (12.00m)

Shot put: Jamie Waine, Calgary (13.41m)

Weight throw: Kayla Gallagher, Lethbridge (16.85m)

Pentathlon: Rachael McIntosh, Calgary (3883 pts)


60-metre dash: Leah Walkeden, Alberta (7.63 s)

300-metre dash: Kelsey Lotwin, Saskatchewan (39.91 s)

600-metre run: Rachel Francois, Victoria (1:30.01)

1000-metre run: Jenna Westaway, Calgary (2:51.64)

1500-metre run: Alison Jackson, Trinity Western (4:36.94)

3000-metre run: Karissa LePage, Regina (10:04.97)

60-metre hurdles: Rachel Machin, Calgary (8.63 s)

4×200-metre relay: Calgary (1:41.06)

4×400-metre relay: Victoria (3:48.10)

4×800-metre relay: Saskatchewan (9:00.90)

High jump: Rachel Machin, Calgary (1.82m)

Pole vault: Rebecca Marchant, Trinity Western (3.80m)

Long jump: Joy Becker, Regina (5.84m)

Triple jump: Allison Kendall, Calgary (11.89m)

Shot put: Kayla Gallagher, Lethbridge (12.94m)

Weight throw: Ciera Heshka-Wolf, Alberta (15.92m)

Pentathlon: Megan Rumpel, Regina (3588 pts)


60-metre dash: Benjamin Williams, Alberta (6.85 s)

300-metre dash: Kyle Donsberger, Saskatchewan (35.30 s)

600-metre run: Adam Gaudes, Victoria (1:20.30)

1000-metre run: Thomas Riva, Victoria (2:28.77)

1500-metre run: Matt Johnson, Regina (3:56.57)

3000-metre run: Kelly Wiebe, Regina (8:06.87)

60-metre hurdles: Calum Innes, Trinity Western (8.01 s)

4×200-metre relay: Saskatchewan (1:28.33)

4×400-metre relay: Saskatchewan (3:21.12)

4×800-metre relay: Victoria (7:40.39)

High jump: Jeremy Eckert, Regina (2.09m)

Pole vault: Alex Love, Calgary (4.51m)

Long jump: Lex Ewen, Regina (7.04m)

Triple jump: Lex Ewen, Regina (14.12m)

Shot put: Nolan Machiskinic, Saskatchewan (15.03m)

Weight throw: Peter Millman, Lethbridge (16.88m)

Pentathlon: James Digel, Saskatchewan (3314 pts)


60-metre dash: Calum Innes, Trinity Western (6.88 s)

300-metre dash: Alex Fedyk, Saskatchewan (35.31 s)

600-metre run: Daniel Block, Saskatchewan (1:21.46)

1000-metre run: Brad Bickley, Calgary (2:28.89)

1500-metre run: Thomas Riva, Victoria (3:57.33)

3000-metre run: Matt Johnson, Regina (8:25.16)

60-metre hurdles: Justin Baker, Regina (8.21 s)

4×200-metre relay: Calgary (1:29.45)

4×400-metre relay: Victoria (3:22.60)

4×800-metre relay: Saskatchewan (7:43.23)

High jump: Alhaji Mansaray, Manitoba (2.06m)

Pole vault: Eric Furletti, Manitoba (4.51m)

Long jump: Teodor Kostelnik, Alberta (7.02m)

Triple jump: Cossy Nachilobe, Saskatchewan (14.12m)

Shot put: Peter Millman, Lethbridge (14.82m)

Weight throw: Codey Pakula, Regina (16.83m)

Pentathlon: Arthur Buchanan, Manitoba (3298 pts)