PREVIEW CIS wrestling championships: Brock, Concordia look to defend titles in London


OTTAWA (CIS) – The Brock University women and ConcordiaUniversity men hope to defend their team titles this weekend whenthe top varsity wrestlers in the country meet in London, Ont., forthe 2013 CIS championships.

Championship website:

The two-day national meet returns to Western University for thefirst time since 2000. The preliminary rounds are set for Friday,starting at 10 a.m.

, with the classification matches (10 a.m.),bronze-medal bouts (12:30 p.m.) and championship finals (2:30 p.m.)following on Saturday at Alumni Hall.

All sessions from both days will be webcast live on

On the women’s side, the defending champion Badgers areranked second going into the CIS meet behind the Alberta Pandas,who claimed their first national banner two years ago.

Both teams are coming off comfortable wins at their respectiveconference championships as Brock distanced Western by 10 pointsfor the OUA title, while Alberta finished with a 13-point cushionover Calgary at the Canada West competition.

Alberta, Brock and Western will be represented in seven of eightweight classes this weekend, while Calgary will compete in sixdivisions.

At last year’s nationals, the Badger women triumphed infour divisions and also had a second-place finish. Two of their2012 gold medallists – Jade Parsons at 48kg and Diana Ford at 51 kg- are back to defend their titles. Reigning 59kg champ NatashaChang will also compete this week but she moved up to 63kg thisseason.

At least five new individual champions will be crowned onSaturday as Parsons, Ford and Chang are the only individualtitlists from last year who will be in London.

It’s a different story on the men’s side, where sixof the 10 gold medallists from 2012 are back, including five whoremained in the same weight category.

Two of those golden boys – David Tremblay at 61kg and JamesMancini at 65kg – are from reigning two-time championConcordia.

A native of Stoney Point, Ont., Tremblay hopes to enter therecord books on Saturday as he looks to become only the fifthwrestler in CIS history – and the third male – tofinish his university career with the maximum of five individualgold medals. Three of the four athletes who previously accomplishedthe feat did so in consecutive years.

Tremblay, who represented Canada at the 2012 Olympics (55kg),was named CIS male wrestler of the year in 2009 after he claimedgold at 61kg as a freshman, and never looked back. He prevailed at57kg the next two seasons before returning to 61kg last year.

In the team national rankings, the Concordia men trail theAlberta Golden Bears and Western Mustangs going into the CIStournament.

The Canada West champion Bears are the only squad that will havea full roster of 10 male competitors in London. The championshiphost and OUA champ Mustangs will have nine and the Stingers,eight.

Two Western returnees are 2012 gold medallists. Steven Takahashiwill defend his title at 54kg, while Ilya Abelev will surrender his68kg crown as he moved up to 72kg this season.

The other returning champions in men’s competition areRegina’s Steven Schneider (57kg) and Saskatchewan’sRyan Myrfield (72kg).

NOTES: Takahashi, Abelev and Myrfield are all looking for theirthird straight CIS title. Myrfield aims for his fourth goldoverall… Former Brock teammates Ryan Weicker (2001-2005) andJames Macari (2003-2007) are the only two male wrestlers to havewon five CIS individual gold medals… On the women’s side,Calgary’s Gen Haley won five straight gold medals(2007-2011), while Ali Bernard claimed four in four years forRegina (2005-2008) and added a fifth triumph after transferring toAlberta (2010).


Women (inaugural women’s championship in 1999)
2012 Brock
2011 Alberta
2010 Simon Fraser
2009 Calgary
2008 Simon Fraser
2007 Calgary
2006 Simon Fraser
2005 Simon Fraser
2004 Simon Fraser
2003 Simon Fraser
2002 Brock
2001 Calgary
2000 Calgary
1999 Calgary

Men (last 20 years)
2012 Concordia
2011 Concordia
2010 Simon Fraser
2009 Simon Fraser
1999 to 2008 Brock (10 straight titles)
1998 Regina
1997 Regina
1996 Brock
1995 Brock
1994 McMaster
1993 Manitoba


2012 Emma Brightwell, Lakehead
2011 Gen Haley, Calgary
2010 Gen Haley, Calgary
2009 Heidi Erdle, Calgary
2008 Miranda Dick, Simon Fraser
2007 Hana Askren, Concordia
2006 Emily Richardson, Simon Fraser
2005 Ellen Macro, McMaster
2004 Martine Dugrenier, Concordia
2003 Tara Hedican, Guelph

2012 Preston Mikulasik, Lakehead
2011 Vince Cormier, UNB
2010 Shujon Mazumber, Toronto
2009 David Tremblay, Concordia
2008 Dustyn Fisher, Simon Fraser
2007 Jamie Macari, Brock
2006 Sheldon Francis, McMaster
2005 Ryan Weicker, Brock
2004 Adam Fera, Brock
2003 David Kooperberg, Calgary

CHAMPIONSHIPSCHEDULE (all sessions webcast live

Thursday, February 28
17:00 Weigh-ins (Sheraton Hotel – Balmoral Ballroom)

Friday, March 1
10:00 Preliminaries Round 1 (
13:00 Preliminaries Round 2 (
15:30 Preliminaries Round 3 (

Saturday, March 2
10:00 Classification matches 5th-8th place (
12:30 Bronze-medal matches (
14:30 Championship finals (
18:00 Awards Banquet (Sheraton Hotel – Bristol Ballroom)


Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!