Vikes to take on top varsity sevens competition

uvic logo web

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

February 28, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – After winning the plate at last year’s National University Sevens Rugby Championship the University of Victoria Vikes women’s rugby team is looking to take their success a step further.

The Vikes women’s rugby team will compete for the National University Sevens cup, Mar. 1-2 at Westhills Stadium in Langford, B.C.

In last year’s cup final it was the University of Guelph that blew past the University of British Columbia to win 55-0. This year’s competition includes 10 teams from across the country with several new entrants such as Canada West competition the University of Alberta Pandas and the University of Calgary Dinos.

The UVic women are in a pool alongside newcomers Alberta, eastern competition McMaster University, fellow B.C. side the University of British Columbia Okanagan and the 2012 defending champions Guelph. With Alberta as 2012 Canada West Champions and Guelph as 2012 CIS silver medallists, the Vikes will have their work cut out for them.

The Vikes are led on field by captain Courtney Goulet (White Rock, B.C.), with fourth-year co-captain Melissa Robinson (North Vancouver, B.C.) sidelined by injury. Although the UVic squad is a relatively young side they are certainly capable of making an impact at this year’s tournament.

Boasting some speed on their backline with rookie winger Chelsea Marshall (Kelowna, BC) and flyhalf Kara Galbraith (Ladysmith, BC), the Vikes will be looking to capitalize on fast break opportunities while kicker Alanna Cryer (Calgary, Alta.) has shown she has a boot that can make a difference.

“The girls have been working really hard under the guidance of international sevens players Barb Mervin and Brittany Waters,” said head coach of the UVic women’s rugby team, Mark Hall. “This group really has the potential to rise to the occasion. We’re in a tough pool but in sevens anything can happen.”


The first game of the tournament for the UVic women is Friday, Mar. 1 at 9:22 a.m. with all matches taking place at Langford’s Westhills Stadium. The event is being broadcast live at for a cost of $3.99, a live audio stream featuring commentary is available free of charge.


1. Melissa Robinson*

2. Alanna Cryer

3. Jaiden Parhar

4. Alya Govorchin

5. Kara Galbraith

6. Taylor Reidlinger*

7. Shannon Fitzpatrick

8. Courtney Goulet

9. Kelsey Bisaro

10. Chelsea Marshall

11. Laura Crowe-Hutchon

12. Kehla Guimond


Coaches: Barb Mervin, Brittany Waters, Mark Hall

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!