Record-seeking Carleton seeded No. 1, Acadia earns wildcard


March 4, 2013, OTTAWA (CIS) – For the second consecutive season, and the fifth time in six years, the Carleton University Ravens have been established tournament favourites for the CIS men’s basketball championship.

The seeding was announced Sunday for the CIS Final Eight, hosted by Carleton. The single-elimination tournament gets underway Friday at Scotiabank Place in Ottawa and culminates next Sunday at 3:30 p.m. with the gold-medal final, live on The Score Television Network.

The Score also has live coverage of Saturday’s semifinals starting at 5:30 p.m. All 11 games from the competition (televised or non-televised) will also be webcast live at,  while Rogers TV Ottawa will broadcast Friday’s fourth quarter-final locally.

Joining OUA champion Carleton in the nation’s capital will be the No. 2 Cape Breton Capers (AUS champions), No. 3 Ottawa Gee-Gees (OUA finalists), No. 4 UBC Thunderbirds (CWUAA champions), No. 5 Acadia Axemen (AUS finalists), No. 6 McGill Redmen (RSEQ champions), No. 7 Lakehead Thunderwolves (OUA bronze medallists) and No. 8 Victoria Vikes (CWUAA finalists)

Acadia received the at-large berth (wildcard) following a vote by a committee of CIS coaches. The Axemen were ranked no lower than sixth nationally all season and climbed all the way up to No. 2 for three weeks during the fall semester.

The reigning two-time national champion Ravens were a logical choice for the No. 1 seed following another remarkable season that saw them finish atop the OUA East standings with a 19-1 record, add three wins in three outings in the playoffs en route to the Wilson Cup title, and compile an overall mark of 25-1 against CIS opponents.

Carleton opens its defence of the W.P. McGee Trophy Friday at 8 p.m. against Victoria. The other quarter-final match-ups include Cape Breton vs. Lakehead in the tournament opener at noon, Ottawa vs. McGill at 2:15 p.m., as well as UBC vs. Acadia at 6 p.m.

Carleton and first-round opponent Victoria enter the 2013 tourney tied for most CIS men’s basketball banners overall, with eight apiece. UBC (2) and Acadia (2) have also claimed the McGee Trophy in the past.

Championship website:

NOTES: A complete championship preview will follow on Tuesday… The CIS all-Canadians and major award winners will be announced on Wednesday morning (note: no awards reception)… All-Canadians and major award winners will be honoured at centre court at Scotiabank Place on Saturday evening between the semifinals.


1. Carleton Ravens (OUA champions: 19-1 regular season / 3-0 playoffs)

2. Cape Breton Capers (AUS champions: 19-1 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)

3. Ottawa Gee-Gees (OUA finalists: 15-5 regular season / 2-1 playoff

4. UBC Thunderbirds (CWUAA champions: 18-4 regular season / 4-1 playoffs)

5. Acadia Axemen (AUS finalists: 15-5 regular season / 1-1 playoffs)

6. McGill Redmen (RSEQ champions: 11-5 regular season / 2-0 playoffs)

7. Lakehead Thunderwolves (OUA bronze medallists: 14-7 regular season / 2-1 playoffs)

8. Victoria Vikes (CWUAA finalists: 16-6 regular season / 3-1 playoffs)