Coquitlam, Delta curlers take gold at juveniles

Curl BC_Colour_Logo

March 11, 2013, (ISN) – Team Habkirk from the Coquitlam Curling Centre swept their way to a gold medal at the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Juvenile Curling Championships this weekend.

On the juvenile girls’ side, Team Daniels from the Delta Curling Club took gold after going through the entire competition undefeated.

The juvenile boys, made up of skip Kyle Habkirk, third Nicholas Umbach, second Ryan Harbrink and lead Kento Sato beat team Bartlett from the Grand Forks Curling Club 7-3 in the gold medal game.

It wasn’t all plain sailing for the team. They were beaten by the North Shore Winter Club’s Jay Ueda in round-robin play on Friday, but bounced back with wins against Team Withey and Team Carpenter to advance to the final.

This is the second provincial championship medal for the boys this year. They were bronze medallists at the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships (under 21) in January.

The juvenile championship (ages 11-16) took place at the Prince George Golf and Curling Club from March 7 to 10.

The winning juvenile girls team, made up of sisters Sarah (skip) and Megan Daniels (third) and second Megan Bourassa and lead Heather Sinclair, beat Team Fisher from the Kamloops Curling Club 9-7 to take the title.

The Daniels sisters were members of Team Jensen, the team that took the bronze medal at the 2013 Tim Hortons BC Junior Curling Championships in Coquitlam.

On the boys’ side, Team Bartlett, made up of skip Zane Bartlett, third Evan Turgeon, second Jordan Field, lead Colin Anderson and fifth Devin Anderson, were silver medallists at the competition.

Team Cliff, from the Vernon Curling Club, took bronze medals home. The team is made up of skip Brendan Cliff, third Matthew Schiman, second Deven Schmidt and lead Matthew Young.

On the girls’ side, Team Fisher of Kamloops, with skip Cierra Fisher, third Samantha Reimer, second Emily Wood and lead Mackenzie Anderson were silver medallists.

Team Van Osch, from the Juan De Fuca Curling Club, took bronze after beating Team Wilson, from the Prince George Golf and Curling Club, 7-3 in the bronze medal game. The team is made up of skip Marika Van Osch, third Dallyce Gillespie, second Brooke Capron and lead Sydney Britz.

The teams now advance to the Optimist International U-18 Curling Championships, which take place at the Langley and Cloverdale curling clubs from March 26 to April 1.

Jubilee medal for dedicated curling volunteer


A dedicated curling volunteer from Oliver has been honoured with a Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal.

Joyce Kuyzk, from Oliver Curling Club, was presented with the medal alongside 74 other British Columbians in recognition of her “service to fellow citizens”.

This is the second honour for Kuyzk in recent years. She was the winner of Curl BC’s Janette Robbins Award (builder) for 2011-12 for playing an intrumental role in the survival of her home club.

One of the members of the Oliver Curling Club who nominated her for the award, Avrie Bourgeault, had this to say about Kuyzk: “Joyce has actually rescued this club over and over. The annual auction organized, and executed, has kept us afloat as the membership has declined. She also instigated the golf tournament.

Chief fundraiser hasn’t been Kuyzk’s only role. Bourgeault added: “She has held the executive positions — agreed to be chair, year after year. All the while she has been managing our club assets, she has curled. She has taken so many teams out of town, (to ensure they return to our spiels) and maintained that wonderful spirit win or lose. She has also introduced so many new members and encouraged fun events and leagues.”

The Queen’s Diamond Jubilee Medal was created to mark the 2012 celebrations of the 60th anniversary of Her Majesty’s accession to the throne.