BCHL Award Winners


Brent Mutis

March 12, 2013, (ISN) – The British Columbia Hockey League is pleased to announce its award winners for the 2012-13 season. The winners were chosen after a survey of BCHL coaches.

Players from nine teams received major league awards this season.

Langley’s Mario Puskarich is the first Coastal Conference player to win the scoring title since 2009 when D’Arcy Oakes won it with the Powell River Kings.

Puskarich’s 16-point margin over runner up Austin Plevy of Chilliwack is the largest since 2006 when Merritt’s Brandon Wong won the Brett Hull Trophy with a 116-point season, 15 points better than Chilliwack’s Matt Butcher.

BCHL Award Winners:

Vern Dye Memorial Trophy – Most Valuable Player

Interior Conference: Brent Baltus, Trail Smoke Eaters

Coastal Conference: Mitch Gillam, Chilliwack Chiefs

Bruce Allison Memorial Trophy – Rookie of the Year

Interior Conference: Ryan Gropp, Penticton Vees

Coastal Conference: Luke Esposito, Chilliwack Chiefs

Best Defenceman Award

Interior Conference: Troy Stecher, Penticton Vees

Coastal Conference: Devon Toews, Surrey Eagles

Bob Fenton Trophy – Most Sportsmanlike Player

Interior Conference: Brandon Mistal, Salmon Arm SilverBacks

Coastal Conference: Ryan Lough, Alberni Valley Bulldogs

Joe Tennant Memorial Trophy – Coach of the Year

Interior Conference: Luke Pierce, Merritt Centennials

Coastal Conference: Bill Bestwick, Victoria Grizzlies

Non-voting awards

Brett Hull Trophy – BCHL Top Scorer


Mario Puskarich, Langley Rivermen (41 goals, 48 assists for 89 points)

Goaltending Award (Lowest goals-against average of goalies with 1,000+ minutes played)

Michael Santaguida, Surrey Eagles (2.28 GAA, 2,582 minutes played)

Wally Forslund Award – Top Goaltending Tandem (best combined goals-against average)

Chad Katunar and Nic Renyard, Penticton Vees (2.33 GAA)