Vikes look for redemption as they host No. 4 Burnaby

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

March 14, 2013, Victoria, B.C. – After dropping last weekend’s result 48-14 to the Castaway Wanderers, the Vikes take on visiting Burnaby Lake this weekend, Mar. 16 at 2:45 p.m.

The Vikes have a chance at redemption after last games’ unsatisfactory performance as they take on No. 4 Burnaby Lake, a team that is only two points ahead of the UVic men in the B.C. Rugby Union standings.

The last time these two sides met, before the season break, the Vikes won on the road with a score of 30-22. Boasting a full-strength roster of international sevens players Nathan Hirayama (Richmond, BC), Phil Mack (Victoria, BC) and third-year scrumhalf Jamie MacKenzie (Oakville, ON), the Vikes were unstoppable.

This weekend’s lineup is looking fairly different as sevens players Hirayama and Sean Duke (Vancouver, BC) will be on tour with the Canadian team while Mack has not yet received clearance to play after sustaining an injury in February.

However, after a lengthy hiatus Adam Kleeberger (White Rock, BC) is back in the Vikes’ lineup as this Saturday’s starting eightman. Kleeberger was a standout at the 2011 World Cup and will certainly add an element of international experience.

For the visitors, Burnaby currently boasts the league’s top points scorer as kicker James Reekie has tallied an impressive 62 in six games. Admir Cejvanovic and Joe Dolesau are the team’s leading try scorers and will undoubtedly give the Vikes some trouble defensively.


With a limited number of games left in their season the Vikes must continue to put up points against the teams within their sights if they are hoping to play in the post-season. Kick off this Saturday, Mar. 16 against Burnaby is at 2:45 p.m. on Wallace Field.


1. Dan Hrycyk

2. Casey Reed

3. Zack Myers

4. Luke Campbell

5. Shea Wakefield

6. Liam Murray

7. Drew Langer

8. Adam Kleeberger

9. James Pitblado

10. Pay Kay

11. Beau Parker

12. Remi Anctil

13. Dustin Dobrovsky

14. Fergus Hall

15. Kane Wyatt