WHL Announces 2012-13 Eastern Conference All-Star Teams And Award Finalists


March 20, 2013, (ISN) – The Western Hockey League announced today the 2012-13 WHL Eastern Conference First and Second All-Star Teams and the Eastern Conference Finalists for the 2012-13 WHL Awards.

**The WHL will announce the Western Conference All-Stars and Awards Finalists tomorrow Thursday, March 21st.

The WHL Eastern Conference All-Star Teams are as follows:



Goaltender – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels

Defenceman – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors

Defenceman – Darren Dietz (Medicine Hat, AB) Saskatoon Blades

Forward – Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos*

Forward – Michael St. Croix (Winnipeg, MB), Edmonton Oil Kings

Forward – Curtis Valk (Medicine Hat), Medicine Hat Tigers


Goaltender – Laurent Brossoit (Surrey, BC), Edmonton Oil Kings

Defenceman – Alex Roach (Quensel, B.C), Calgary Hitmen

Defenceman – Keegan Lowe (Edmonton, AB), Edmonton Oil Kings

Forward – Sam Reinhart (Vancouver, BC),Kootenay Ice

Forward – Cody Sylvester (Vernon, BC), Calgary Hitmen

Forward – Hunter Shinkaruk (Calgary, AB), Medicine Hat Tigers

* indicates unanimous selection

The WHL announced the Eastern Conference Finalists in the following categories:

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Eastern Conference – Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, SK), Edmonton Oil Kings

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Cody Sylvester (Vernon , BC), Calgary Hitmen

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference – Saskatoon Blades

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Portland Winterhawks: GP – 72 W – 57 L – 12 OTL – 1 SL – 2 Pts – 117

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy

Brendan Leipsic– (Winnipeg, MB) Portland Winterhawks

GP – 68 G – 49 A – 71 Pts – 120 PIM – 103

Nicolas Petan – (Delta, BC) Portland Winterhawks

GP – 71 G – 46 A – 74 Pts – 120 PIM – 43