Braves Cap Off 45th Season with Awards Ceremony

Saanich Braves full color logo

Sandra Hudson

March 22, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The Saanich Junior B Braves celebrated their successful 45th season with their annual awards dinner and ceremony at the Save-On-Foods Memorial Centre earlier this evening.

Graduating players, Braves Captain Ty Jones and Tanner McGaw shared the Slegg Lumber Most Valuable Player Award. Jones and McGaw are both Saanich natives and Saanich Minor Hockey alumni. Jones also received the Dennis Ferrill Memorial Award as the team’s top scorer.

Nick Guerra was chosen as the Mike Geric Contruction Rookie of the Year while fellow rookie, Kevin Massy was named the Country Grocer Most Improved Player.

Sam Johnston, another graduating player, received the Seianna Financial Services Unsung Hero Award and the Keg Steakhouse Iron Man Award having appeared in all 48 games of the Braves 2012/13 season.

Elite Sports Coaches Award Honours went to defenseman Liam Sproule, while Royal Lepage Realty Top Defenseman honours went to Garrett Kemmler.

Rookie forward Seamus Maguire received the Great Pacific Mortgage and Investment Student Athlete Award.

The Norm Kelly Consulting Top Playoff Performer award was presented to forward Max Mois.

The Braves Most Dedicated Volunteer honours were presented by fellow volunteer and award donour John Bradford to Kyle Worsfold.

The Saanich Junior B Braves coaches and management thanked the team, volunteers and fans for their support and commitment during the 2012-13 season.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!