Vikes rowing teams to go head-to-head against T-Bird crews

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

March 27, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes men’s and women’s rowing teams will travel to Vancouver this Saturday to take on the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds in the annual Brown Cup.


Mar. 29: UVic men’s and women’s rowing at Brown Cup (Vancouver, B.C.)

In it’s 22nd year for the men and the 20th year for the women, the Brown Cup is a yearly tradition that pits the two Pacific powerhouses, UVic and UBC, against one another with the current record at 17 out of 21 wins for the Vikes men and 18 out of 19 wins for the women.

At last year’s event the men’s eight were edged out by a 0.93 second margin as UBC crossed the line first to take the win while UVic’s women’s eight bested the T-Birds by a margin of 0.63.

The Brown Cup is traditionally a 3500-m course, far different from the usual 2000-m that each team is far more accustomed to racing.

“It’s definitely a more psychological race,” said Vikes men’s head coach Howie Campbell. “The course is on moving water with quite a large bend so whether you’re on the inside or the outside can really influence the race. It’s a challenging event for the coxswains as well as the rest of the crew.”

This year’s Brown Cup kicks off at 10:00 a.m. on the Fraser River, with the Alumni Challenge, followed by the men’s and women’s reserve crew races and then the varsity races.

Vikes Men’s Varsity Crew

Jane Gumley – Cox

Gareth Lindstrom – Stroke

Sam Horn – Seven

Sean Decter – Six

Will O’Connell – Five

Alex Walker – Four

Mark Lillis – Three

Connor McGuigan – Two

Jonathan Chandler – Bow

Vike’s Men’s Reserve Crew

Alex Clancy – Cox

Andrew Butler – Stroke

Lee Hall – Seven

Isaac Davies – Six

Curtis Champion – Five

Andrew Roberts – Four

Elyas Forstbauer – Three

Sam Garber – Two

Thomas Rogers – Bow

Vikes Women’s Crew

Megan Smith – Cox

Madeline Spangehl – Eight

Claire McCormick – Seven

Rebecca Zimmerman – Six

Jillian Legare – Five

Bronwyn Lawrie – Four

Emily Garry – Three

Renae Barks – Two

Stefanie Miklosovic – Bow

Vikes Women’s Reserve Crew

Becky Wilder – Cox

Erin Moen – Eight

Elizabeth McConnell – Seven

Alyssa Roehrich – Six

Breezy Beaudry – Five

Annie Pickering – Four

Stephanie Kozlowski – Three

Amanda Pomphrey – Two

Gillian Eeles – Bow