Vikes take on T-Birds in round two of annual Wightman Boot

uvic logo web

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

March 27, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – This Friday, Mar. 29, the University of Victoria Vikes are looking to win their 16th consecutive “Wightman’s Boot” title as they take on the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds.

Mar. 29: UVic Vikes @ UBC T-Birds, 2:30 p.m. (Vancouver, B.C.)

The 42-year long friendly rivalry between the two varsity sides is a two-game series with the winner decided on points. The Vikes have captured the last 15 Boot titles and in total, boast 38 wins and one tie in comparison to UBC’s 17 wins and one tie.

In the first match-up of the 2012-13 competition the Vikes bested the T-Birds 54-28, giving UVic a 26-point lead going into Friday’s game.

“We’ll be playing them on their home field, on their new turf, so I don’t think that we can take this game lightly,” said Vikes head coach Doug Tate. “We’ve done that in the past and it hasn’t ended well for us. A 26-point lead can evaporate pretty quickly so we just need to make sure that we stay focused.”

Due to the national team commitments of some of the Vikes’ more experienced players, the onus will be on the first and second year set to help UVic take the win. Sophomore Patrick Kay (Duncan, B.C.) has been consistent at flyhalf and paired with rookie scrumhalf James Pitblado, the two have created several key try-scoring opportunities in the Vikes’ last few premier league match-ups.

Veteran fourth years Remi Anctil (Vancouver, BC) and Liam Murray (North Vancouver, BC) will provide some on-field leadership while wingers Beau Parker (Vancouver, BC) and Luke McCloskey (Victoria, B.C.) will look to expose the opposition’s defensive errors with their speed.

The second round of the 42nd Wightman’s Boot kicks off this Friday, Mar. 29, at 2:30 p.m. at UBC’s Wolfson Field.


Dan Hrycyk

Zack Myers

Thomas Pynn

Casey Reed

Macbryan Bos

Cam Polson

Shea Wakefield

Lukas Balkovec

Liam Murray

Drew Langer

Nathan Stewart

Jeff Nishima-Miller

Kevin Leask

Reid Tucker

James Pitblado

Raubi Dillon

Patrick Kay

Remi Anctil

Dustin Dobravsky

Doug Fraser

Beau Parker

Luke McCloskey

Kane Wyatt

Fergus Hall