pga tour_canada

March 29, 2013 (ISN) –PGA TOUR Canada is ready to stage the largest Q-School in Canadian golf history with a full field of 312 players, April 7-12 at Morongo Golf Club at Tukwet Canyon in Beaumont, California.


The 312 entrants represent the maximum field size for the event and the largest Q-School in Canadian golf since 2000, when 242 players competed at the Canadian Tour Spring Qualifying School. The top 20 players will earn exempt status for 2013, while the next 20 plus ties will earn conditional status.

“The outpouring of interest in Q-School confirms that players aspiring to make it to the PGA TOUR see the value in playing PGA TOUR Canada and how it will assist them in reaching their goal,” said PGA TOUR Canada President Jeff Monday. “We look forward to a highly competitive tournament that will see some excellent players qualify for the Tour.”

The top five players on the Order of Merit at season’s end will earn 2014 Tour cards, with the top player fully exempt and the next four earning highly-placed status.

Players in the field include former PGA TOUR Canada Order of Merit winner Stephen Gangluff, 2007 Dakota Dunes Open champion Josh Geary, 2010 British Amateur champion Jin Jeong , two-time Canadian Amateur champion Mackenzie Hughes, former SONY Open in Hawaii standout Tadd Fujikawa and four US Amateur runner-ups in Drew Kittleson (’08), John Kelly (’06), Dillon Dougherty (’05) and Joel Kribel (’97).

The competition will be 72 holes on both The Legends and The Champions courses, taking place April 9-12, with April 7 and 8 reserved for practice rounds.

PGA TOUR Canada returns to Beaumont after conducting its California Q-School there in 2012, when Andrew Roque, who went on to win the first event of the season at the Times Colonist Island Savings Open, claimed medalist honours.

The PGA TOUR Canada season will begin June 3-9 at the Times Colonist Island Savings Open in Victoria, BC.