Vikes win 19th Brown Cup title

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

March 30, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – In the 20th edition of the women’s Brown Cup the University of Victoria Vikes women’s rowing team posted a new course record of 10:43.09 and bested their competition, the University of British Columbia Thunderbirds, to earn their 19th Brown Cup title.

Under sunshine and blue skies the Vikes battled a strong outflow current and a stiff headwind to win the 2013 Brown Cup, an annual race modeled after the historic Oxford – Cambridge boat race that sees two eight-oared shells race head-to-head over the winding Thames River in London.

UVic was pitted against a UBC crew that had taken a win from them just three weeks prior, giving the Vikes an extra bit of incentive to row to victory.

“Our loss a few weeks ago really motivated the girls to work hard these past couple of weeks,” said Vikes head coach Rick Crawley, “Our crew was ready for this race right from the get-go.”

Just off the line, a series of waves tossed both boats around but the Vikes continued their smooth stroking and maintained their composure to take an early lead. As a result of the conditions, it was difficult steering for the coxswains but the Vikes crew handled it well. Despite being pushed into the UBC boat by a strong wind, UVic held firm and refused to allow the T-Birds to close the gap.

In the final 500-m, UBC took advantage of the current to close the gap on the shore-bound Vikes but in the end the margin was just too big as UVic finished in a course record time of 10:43.09 with the T-Birds in at 10:48.39.


In the women’s reserve race earlier in the day, it was the UBC crew that better handled the conditions under the first trestle and pulled away from the young Vikes to win 11:16.53 to UVic’s 11:29.30.


Megan Smith – Cox

Madeline Spangehl – Eight

Claire McCormick – Seven

Rebecca Zimmerman – Six

Jillian Legare – Five

Bronwyn Lawrie – Four

Emily Garry – Three

Renae Barks – Two

Stefanie Miklosovic – Bow


Becky Wilder – Cox

Erin Moen – Eight

Elizabeth McConnell – Seven

Alyssa Roehrich – Six

Breezy Beaudry – Five

Annie Pickering – Four

Stephanie Kozlowski – Three

Amanda Pomphrey – Two

Gillian Eeles – Bow