Dollard wins 2013 Senior Women’s National Club Championships

Water Polo Canada 2

Louis Daignaut

March 31, 2013, Quebec City, (ISN) – Dollard Water Polo overcame 0-2 deficits in its two matches Sunday to win the gold medal at the 2013 Senior Women’s National Club Championships.

Dollard defeated Ste-Foy Hydres 16-4 and Ottawa’s Capital Wave 15-9 to complete the round robin tournament with a perfect 4-0 mark. Capital Wave took second spot finishing at 2-2 while Ste-Foy was winless.

”This victory is really showing that our past success in the age group program is now translating into great results at the senior level,” said Dollard’s head coach Andrew Robinson. ”Our national team players really pushed our younger players to another level. It was a great weekend for everybody.”

In the Dollard/Ste-Foy match, Ste-Foy had jumped to a 2-0 lead after two minutes but trailed 3-2 after the first quarter. It was 5-2 at the half and 9-3 after three. Katrina Monton, one of several national team players in the tournament, scored four goals for Dollard. Taylor Vijh, Joelle Bekhazi and Fiona Fitzgibbon recorded two apiece with singles added by Bailey Hardy, Kelly Matthews, Stephanie Valin, Amanda Amorosa, Christine Robinson and Marina Radu. Valérie Dionne replied with three for Ste-Foy and Alexandra Dionne added one.

Earlier against Capital Wave, Dollard trailed 2-0 after 2:10, tied it 2-2 but trailed 4-2 after eight minutes. The gold medallists managed to take control by scoring five unanswered goals in the second quarter. Radu notched the hat trick while Hardy, Matthews, Valin, Bekhazi and Kimberly Watson added two each and Vijh scored once.

In Sunday’s other match, Ottawa defeated Ste-Foy 9-6. Sophie Baron La Salle scored seven goals to finish the day with 11 and was named the tournament MVP.

”It was a lot of fun playing for Capital Wave,” said Baron La Salle. ”It’s always a challenge joining a new team but I thought we played really well. We had a good system of play and we are very happy with our silver medal.”

The all-star team members were Baron La Salle, Alexandra Dionne, Monton, Bekhazi, Radu and Matthews. Nicola Colterjohn of Capital Wave was named the most valuable goalie and Robinson the most valuable coach.

For more information: