Drydn Dow Honored As Americans’ 2013 Playoff MVP


April 1, 2013, Kennewick, WA (ISN) – Tri-City Americans Governor/General Manager announced today that overage defenseman Drydn Dow has been named the team’s 2013 Playoff Most Valuable Player. Dow becomes the first defensemen to earn the award since Logan Stephenson in 2006.

The 5’9, 170-pound defenseman from Calgary, Alberta appeared in all five Americans playoff games this season, recording a team-high 3 goals and 5 points, while leading Tri-City back to the post-season for a 10th consecutive season. A former list player who went on to play in 222 regular season games for the Americans, which ranks 6th all-time among defenseman, Dow finished his WHL career with personal bests in regular season goals (5), assists (28) and points (33).

“Drydn had an impressive post-season, played with heart and passion and was an integral part of our team,” Tory stated. “He will be missed next season as he moves on to the next chapter of his life.”

“There are some great players up on that wall and it’s an honor to have my name go up next to them,”explained Dow. “It’s a bittersweet honor, but I’m happy to contribute.”

Tri-City Americans season tickets are now available for the 2013-14 season. Season ticket plans can be purchased by using several, convenient monthly payment schedules after a one-time service charge. Call 509.736.0606, visit AmsHockey.com or drop by the Americans offices’ at the bottom level of the Toyota Center for more information.

All-Time Americans Playoff MVP Winners:

2013: Drydn Dow

2012: Brendan Shinnimin

2011: Brendan Shinnimin

2010: Kruise Reddick

2009: Mitch Fadden

2008: Chet Pickard

2007: Colton Yellow Horn

2006: Logan Stephenson

2005: Ian McDonald, Andy Thompson

2004: Shawn Belle, Clayton Stoner

2003: Did not make the playoffs

2002: Tyler Weiman

2001: Did not make the playoffs

2000: Darrell Hay

1999: Scott Gomez

1998: Did not make the playoffs

1997: Did not make the playoffs

1996: Daymond Langkow

1995: Daymond Langkow, Terry Ryan

1994: Daymond Langkow

1993: Todd Klassen

1992: Bill Lindsay

1991: Terry Degner

1990: Stu Barnes

1989: Stu Barnes