Saskatoon hosts Senior Men’s Water Polo National Club Championships April 5-7

WaterPoloCanada official_2col_logo

April 3, 2013, Ottawa, ON (ISN) – Nearly a dozen Canadian national team members will take part in the Senior Men’s National Club Championships water polo tournament set for April 5-7 at the Shaw Centre in Saskatoon and hosted by Water Polo Saskatchewan.

Three-time champions Calgary Torpedoes are the number-one seeds followed in order by Montreal’s Dollard Water Polo, Club de Water-Polo CAMO (also based in Montreal), Torpedoes Masters from Calgary and Team Saskatchewan.

The event will present high-level competition, due in part to the 11 national team players divided amongst the five participating squads: Jared McElroy, Oliver Vikalo and Scott Robinson (Calgary Torpedoes); Constantine Kudaba and Dusan Radojcic (Torpedoes Masters); Devon Diggle (Dollard); Robin Randall and Jon Conway (Team Saskatchewan); and Dusan Aleksic, Luka Gasic and Dusko Dakic (CAMO).

“This time of year is very exciting for water polo fans from coast to coast with eight national events over a two month period,” said Jeffrey Lindell, Water Polo Canada’s domestic development director.

“The Senior Men’s National Club Championships is always an exciting tournament as we get to see our national team athletes compete alongside their home clubs. There are 106 years of tradition in this event, which is older than the Grey Cup from the Canadian Football League. We are excited to bring this tradition to a world-class facility and event city at the Shaw Centre in Saskatoon. “

Dollard will face the Torpedo Masters in the tournament’s opening match on Friday at 9:30 a.m., with round robin matches continuing through to Saturday. Other matches those days are at 11 a.m., 2:30 p.m., 6 p.m. and 7:30 p.m. The top-four advance to the medal matches.

The bronze medal game, between third and fourth in the round robin is Sunday at noon and the championship final between the top-two teams follows at 1:30 p.m.

Schedule and Results: