MacAulay and Mayaleh named outstandin​g Athletes of the Year

twitter avatar_UPEI

Rob Annear – UPEI Athletics

April 5, 2013, Charlottetown, PEI (ISN) – UPEI Athletics and Recreation celebrated their 44th year this evening by recognizing their student athletes at the annual UPEI Athletics Awards ceremony held in the W.A. Murphy Student Centre.

The Alumni Athletes of the Year Awards went to field hockey’s Marina MacAulay and Jimmie Mayaleh from men’s soccer.

“We are very proud of all of our UPEI Panther student-athletes,” said UPEI Director of Athletics and Recreation Bill Schurman. “It is a real challenge to balance performance in the classroom and high performance sport. This evening we recognized everyone’s efforts as well as those who rose above and achieved even greater success.”

MacAulay began her career with the Panthers by being named AUS Rookie of the Year and ended the season strong as a CIS second team All-Canadian.

“MacAulay is a skilled and determined athlete with the ability to quietly lead her team by example,” said UPEI Field Hockey Head Coach Sheila Bell.”During her final year, she adapted to playing a new position with ease, making a difficult position look effortless. Playing in the middle of the field, she controlled the play and forced the opposition to be aware of her at all times,” added Bell.

MacAulay demonstrates the ideal combination of mental and physical strength which allows her to perform her best under pressure. As captain, she demonstrated a great work ethic as well as empathy to her team and earned great respect on and off the field.

Jimmie Mayaleh, a fifth-year senior, was one of soccer’s best. He finished the 2012 regular season tied for third in the league in scoring and tied for third in the league in overall points. He was a first team AUS All Star and a CIS second team All-Canadian. He is the one threat every other AUS coach talks about. One AUS coach was quoted: “We knew if we stopped Jimmie, we would win the game.”

“Mayaleh is a tireless worker who sets a great example for the younger players. He loves the game of soccer and his passion and enthusiasm will be missed next year,” said UPEI men’s soccer Head Coach Lewis Page. “It was a pleasure to have him for five years at UPEI, and I’m proud of what Jimmie has achieved in his time with the program.”

The J.T. “Mickey” Place Awards were also presented to student-athletes who have made a contribution to student leadership on their team and on campus. John Thomas “Mickey” Place was connected not only with Athletics at UPEI, but with all aspects of campus life. He believed in fair play and that through respect for one’s opponent, an athlete could gain the ultimate respect for themselves. These awards are provided by the Student Union in his memory. The winners from each team include:

Men’s basketball Jermaine Duke

Women’s basketball Julia McKenna

Field hockey Leanne Doiron

Men’s hockey Dylan Quaile

Women’s hockey Ferran Brown

Women’s rugby Shannon Moore

Women’s soccer Alyson Seviour

Men’s soccer Adam Lowther

Swimming Genevieve Cormier

The Gordon & Muriel Bennett Award presented by Muriel Bennett is given to a student (male or female) who, over four years, best combined athletic achievement and academic excellence. Field Hockey player, Marina MacAulay, was this year’s recipient.

The W.A. Ledwell Award goes to a student athlete who has demonstrated outstanding athletic ability in the intercollegiate program, academic excellence, and also demonstrates the qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and citizenship. Jordan Knox of the men’s hockey team earned this award along with the James Bayer Nomination.

One of the evening highlights was the presentation of the Passion for Life Award, given in memory of Rene Ayangma, a former UPEI soccer player. All nominees—Eliza MacLauchlan, Mason Wilgosh, Jenna Jones, Sara Stanley, Amy Lou Caulier, Suzanne Nicholson, Julia McKenna, and Shannon Moore—were on stage for the presentation. This year’s winner was Julia McKenna, for her true passion for life and commitment to Panther Sport. McKenna has been an incredible leader during her four years at UPEI. Always present for events that take place on campus and sending good luck messages to fellow athletes before games. Most recently, McKenna chaired the second annual “Battle of the Jocks” event to raise funds for the Passion for Life Award and for the Children’s Wish Foundation. McKenna is a true Panther who ‘bleeds green.’

The varsity and club teams also took to the stage one at a time to celebrate and recognize top athletes. Listed below are the winners from each team:

Most Valuable Player awards Julia Lannon, women’s soccer; Jared Murphy, men’s soccer; Marina MacAulay, field hockey; Jaleesa Villard, women’s rugby; Emily MacEachern, women’s basketball; DJ Smith, men’s basketball; Zachary Laustsen, swimming; Wayne Savage, men’s hockey; and Jaimelynn Donaldson, women’s hockey.

Rookie of the Year awards Melissa Richardson, women’s soccer; Ibrahima Sanoh, men’s soccer; Katherine Koughan, field hockey; Rebecca Chapman, women’s rugby; Darcy Zinck, women’s basketball; DJ Smith, men’s basketball; Rooské Wagemakers, swimming; Tyler Brown, men’s hockey; Marie Soleil Deschenes, women’s hockey.

Spirit awards Brian Smith, men’s rugby; Danielle Stewart, synchronized swimming; Melanie McKenna, cross country; Malary Schurman, women’s volleyball; Jane Di Carlo, curling; Brittney Doucette, junior varsity hockey.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!