Athlete of the year nominees announced for 2013 McGill athletics awards gala

Nominees for 2013 McGill athletics awards gala

Nominees for 2013 McGill athletics awards gala

MONTREAL – Nominees have been announced for the 36th annual McGill Athletics Awards Gala to be held at the Holiday Inn Midtown hotel on April 11.

In the running for the D. Stuart Forbes Trophy as male athlete of the year is David Apap, a native of Gap, a skiing village in the French Alps who won the 2013 RSEQ ski championship, swimmer Steven Bielby of Pte. Claire, Que., who struck gold twice at the CIS national championship, football’s Laurent Duvernay-Tardif, an all-Canadian offensive lineman from St. Hilaire, Que., soccer’s Alexis Pradie an all-Canadian defender from Marseille (France) and Jishan Sharples of Vancouver, B.C., who led the lacrosse team to their first-ever national title.

Five all-Canadians make up the finalists for the Gladys Bean Trophy as female athlete of the year include Katie Caldwell (swimming) of White Rock, B.C., Melodie Daoust (hockey) of Valleyfield, Que., Brianna Miller (rugby) of Pte. Claire, Bahar Sansar (soccer) of Longueuil, Que., and basketball’s Mariam Sylla of Conakry (Guinea). Both Caldwell and Sylla are also finalists for rookie-of-the-year honours.

Bielby and Sharples are also among the candidates for the Richard Pound Award, given annually to a McGill male student in his graduating or final year of eligibility, for proficiency and leadership in athletics. Other nominees include baseball’s Casey Auerbach of Westmount, Que., and basketball’s Winn Clark of Mission Hills, Kansas.

On the women’s side, graduating seniors in the running for the Muriel Roscoe Award are volleyball’s Genevieve Plante of Montreal, distance runner Sarah McCuaig of Waterloo, Ont., and basketball’s Francoise Charest of Quebec City.

Joining Caldwell and Sylla as finalists for female-rookie-of-the-year honours are volleyball’s Ashley Norfleet of Brossard, Que., hockey’s Gabrielle Davidson of Pte. Claire and alpine skier Allene Kennedy of Truckee, Calif.

Nominees on the slate for male-rookie-of-the-year honours include lacrosse’s Quinton Bradley of Richmond, B.C., football’s Shaquille Johnson of Brampton, Ont., rugby’s Rhys McRae-McKee of Pte. Claire, badminton’s Pierre Thodoroff of Villennes sur Seine (France) and baseball’s Tyler Welence of Ridgewood, N.J.

Finalists for the Martlet Foundation varsity team on the year (in CIS sports) are all league champions and include both the men’s and women’s basketball teams, as well as the women’s cross-country running and track & field teams.

Rounding out the major awards is the Harry Griffiths Trophy, awarded to the team of the year for non-CIS sports. Three league champions are up for this prize, including the Redmen baseball, lacrosse and rugby squads.

Other awards to be presented include the Uldis Auders Memorial Trophy (sophomore who best combines athletic prowess with academic excellence) and the McGill-Concordia Media Award (outstanding coverage of university sports).




Earl Zukerman
McGill Sports Info

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!