Sarmento named to men’s field hockey national team

UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Natalie Wise, Vikes Communications

April 13, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – Field Hockey Canada has announced the men’s national team that will be travelling to the Hockey World League Round Two competition next month in France and two Vikes, current fourth-year Matthew Sarmento and former Vike Keegan Pereira, have been named to the squad.

The second round of the Hockey World League is set to take place in St. Germain, France, May 6-12 with Canada’s first match against Scotland. The stages of the Hockey World League currently function as both Olympic and World Cup qualifiers and as such, the Canadian contingent will be looking to position themselves as key contenders.

Midfielder Sarmento, one of the two Vikes named to Canada’s squad, has been a key piece of the puzzle for the UVic men these past four years. Sarmento has consistently been the team’s leading scorer, an impact player that not only helps to win games but one who is also a leader on and off the field.

Previously a mainstay in Canada’s junior national program, Sarmento made his first international appearance in 2011 in Vancouver against Chile. Most recently, competing at the Junior Pan American Championships, Sept. 10-23 in Guadalajara, Mexico, Sarmento helped the team to a silver medal. In doing so, the team qualified for the 2013 Junior World Cup. Making the leap to the senior squad was a natural progression for Sarmento as he had already been training with the group since September.

Former Vike Keegan Pereira already has 65 senior caps for Canada since his first international appearance in 2009 against India in Victoria. After his selection in 2009 Pereira decided to take the next few years off from varsity competition with the Vikes in order to pursue his international playing career.


Hosted by the Saint Germain Hockey Club just outside of Paris, Canada will be up against Belgium, France, Poland, Portugal and Scotland. In order to qualify for the third round of World League competition in the Netherlands in June, Canada needs to finish in the top two.

Team Canada Roster

Adam Froese – BC

Antoni Kindler – BC

Ben Martin – BC

David Carter – BC

David Jameson – BC

Gordon Johnston – BC

Iain Smythe – BC

Jesse Watson – BC

Keegan Pereira – ONT

Mark Pearson – BC

Matthew Bissett – BC

Matthew Guest – BC

Matthew Sarmento – BC

Philip Wright – BC

Richard Hildreth – BC

Scott Tupper – BC

Steve Bissett – BC

Taylor Curran – BC