Jeff Hubert

April 18, 2013, Calgary, AB (ISN) – The Western Hockey League today announced the WHL Western Conference finalist for the 2012-13 WHL Player of the Year.

The two finalists for WHL Player of the Year are determined through voting by General Managers, coaches, broadcast and media representatives of all WHL Member Clubs.

In the WHL’s Western Conference, which includes the B.C. and U.S. Divisions, the Player of the Year Nominee is forward Justin Feser of the Tri-City Americans.

Feser, a Red Deer, AB, native, enjoyed an outstanding season for the Americans, leading them to their seventh consecutive season with 40 or more victories. In his 20-year-old campaign, Feser scored 44 goals and 62 assists for 106 points along with a +20 rating while appearing in all 72 games for the Americans.

Feser lead the Americans in scoring by a wide margin this season, netting 40 more points than the team’s second-highest scorer, and placed him fourth among all WHL players in points. His 44 goals put him seventh among all WHL players while his 62 assists also placed him seventh in that category. In addition, Feser netted 13 power play goals and four shorthanded goals, and finished tied for second among WHL players with eight game-winning goals. The 5’9″, 190-lb forward displayed great consistency during the 2012-13 season, being held off the score sheet for two or more consecutive games just five times. Twice named the Denny’s WHL Player of the Week, Feser was also named the Husky WHL Player of the Month for February after collecting 24 points in just 11 games.

Feser has played five seasons in the WHL, all with the Americans, recording 155 goals and 198 assists for 353 points in 351 regular-season games. He has also proven to be the most durable player in WHL history, setting the WHL record for consecutive games played at 321. Feser was selected by the Americans in the ninth round, 194th overall, in the 2007 WHL Bantam Draft.

The recipients of all WHL individual awards will be announced at the 2013 WHL Awards Luncheon, which will be held in Calgary, Alberta, on Wednesday, May 1, 2013.

WHL Player of the Year, Four Broncos Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Adam Lowry (Calgary, AB), Swift Current Broncos

Western Conference – Justin Feser (Red Deer, AB), Tri-City Americans

WHL Rookie of the Year, Jim Piggott Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Leon Draisaitl (Cologne, Germany), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference – Seth Jones (Plano, TX), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Goaltender of the Year, Del Wilson Trophy

Eastern Conference – Patrik Bartosak (Koprivnice, CZR), Red Deer Rebels

Western Conference – Mac Carruth (Shorewood, MN), Portland Winterhawks

WHL Defenceman of the Year, Bill Hunter Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Morgan Rielly (Vancouver, BC), Moose Jaw Warriors

Western Conference – Brenden Kichton (Spruce Grove, AB), Spokane Chiefs

WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player of the Year, Brad Hornung Trophy

Eastern Conference – Dylan Wruck (Saskatoon, SK), Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference – Zach Franko (Winnipeg, MB), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Josh Morrissey (Calgary, AB), Prince Albert Raiders

Western Conference – Rourke Chartier (Saskatoon, SK), Kelowna Rockets

WHL Coach of the Year, Dunc McCallum Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Ryan McGill, Kootenay Ice

Western Conference – Ryan Huska, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Executive of the Year, Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Bob Green, Edmonton Oil Kings

Western Conference – Bruce Hamilton, Kelowna Rockets

WHL Humanitarian of the Year, Doug Wickenheiser Memorial Trophy

Eastern Conference – Cody Sylvester (Vernon , BC), Calgary Hitmen

Western Conference – Mitch Topping (Red Deer, AB), Tri City Americans

WHL Marketing / Business Award

Eastern Conference – Saskatoon Blades

Western Conference – Kamloops Blazers

WHL Regular Season Champions, Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy

Portland Winterhawks: GP – 72 W – 57 L – 12 OTL – 1 SL – 2 Pts – 117

WHL Top Scorer – Bob Clarke Trophy

Brendan Leipsic– (Winnipeg, MB) Portland Winterhawks

GP – 68 G – 49 A – 71 Pts – 120 PIM – 103

Nicolas Petan – (Delta, BC) Portland Winterhawks

GP – 71 G – 46 A – 74 Pts – 120 PIM – 43