Velox Rugby News – Update

velox logo

Paul Eby

April 18, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The women host UVic Saturday at 11:30am, and the Academy squad is headed to Port Alberni for a Cowichan Cup playoff game. Sunday, the 3rds host CW at 1pm in an Island semifinal.

AGM/Player Auction

Practices are wrapping up early tonight (Thursday), so that these two events can get started early. Please show up for a 7:30pm start (no word on which event will occur first). All club members are asked to come vote in the executive for the coming year, and to support the women in their fundraiser.

Open House

As part of the Club’s submission for a Primary Liquor Licence, we are hosting an open house to inform our neighbours: showcasing who we are and what we represent. This will take place May 5th from 11:00am to 12:30pm. Our juniors will be playing some rugby from 11:00-12:30, with a presentation to our visitors on the Club from 11:30-noon. Coffee, tea, and donuts will be available throughout the day. Velox members are invited to attend, but can also help out the day before (Saturday, May 4th) with a work party 11am to 2pm.

It is vital to the club that we be successful in this application, so please plan to come on the 4th to get the place looking great.

We are highlighting our youth rugby program, and the many Velox members who are coaching in the schools. If you are doing so, contact Mark Pratt ( to give him your details. Below is a partial list. It’s impressive how many of you are volunteering your time: thank you, from the rest of us!

Velox members, players and supporters acting as coaches in the schools:

Rae Roer = Spectrum

Chad Vath = Campus View

Steve Neish = Belmont

Mark Pratt = Pacific Christian

John Lyall = Spencer

Huw Griffiths = Spencer

Chris Rickinson = Vic High

Matt Staples = Mt Doug

Mike Huck = EMCS

JP (Ebb Tide) = EMCS

Matt Mortensen = Journey Middle school

Bill Turner = Dunsmuir

Mike Collins = Stelly’s

Mua Vaa = Stelly’s

Micha Seaburg = Glanford girls

Selina McGinnis = GNS and Claremont

Kelsey Oetting = Claremont

Samantha Robb =Esquimalt

Cory Walker = Reynolds ( Girls Rugby)

Murk Toorenbourgh (Ebb Tide) = Stellys