BC Rugby High School Provincial Sevens to kick off on Friday

BC Rugby_Logo_small

Andrew Smith

April 23, 2013, Vancouver, BC (ISN) – The 2013 BC Rugby High School Provincial Sevens Championships will kick off this Friday at UBC’s Wolfson Fields.

For the first time ever, BC Rugby has partnered with the BC Secondary School’s Rugby Union (BCSSRU) and BC High School Girls Rugby Association (BCHSGRA) to stage the three-day event. WIth each division featuring 16 teams from across the province, the Girls Sevens will run Friday through Saturday (April 26-27) and the Boy’s competition will run Saturday through Sunday (April 27-28).

A total of 380 athletes will be competing for the provincial titles as BC’s next generation of aspiring Olympians will try their hand at the abbreviated, high-octane version of the game. Canadian national team selectors have also taken notice and will be scouting for talent at the Rugby Canada Speed Zone – recording sprint trials and broad jump stats to take back to sevens coaches Geraint John and John Tait. The stations will be set up next to the rugby pitches at Wolfson Fields and will be run on Saturday from 10:00am-12:00pm for the Girls, with the 12-2:00pm time slots open to all contestants.

Tournament Details – Girls Division (April 26-27)

Abbotsford Collegiate were the undisputed champions in 2012, with the Double-A school going undefeated in round-robin play and eventually defeating powerhouse program Carson Graham 37-0 in the Cup Final. The tournament champs racked up 218 points in offence and conceded just one try during the two days of competition.

Abbotsford open the 2013 event at 12:00pm on Friday against Heritage Park in pool play. Also set to face the defending champs in the round robin are Pool A opponents GP Vanier of Comox and NorthWest Zone representatives Houston Secondary. The opening day of competition will run from approximately noon until 5:30 on Friday. Day two will feature qualifying and finals rounds with the Shield Final (3:00pm), Bowl Final (3:20pm), Plate Final (3:40pm) and Cup Final (4:45pm) to be held on the Showcase Field in front of the new Gerald McGavin Pavilion stands.

Pool A: Abbotsford Collegiate, GP Vanier, Houston, Heritage

Pool B: Brentwood, Lord Tweedsmuir, Robert Bateman, Kelowna

Pool C: Walnut Grove, Cowichan, Seaquam, Lord Byng

Pool D: Carson Graham, Shawnigan Lake, Rick Hansen, Elgin Park

FULL SCHEDULE (See attached)

Tournament Details – Boys Division (April 27-28)

Two-time defending provincial sevens champions Shawnigan Lake School open the boys event on Saturday at 1:00pm against Vancouver’s Lord Byng. Pool A opponents also include North Vancouver’s Argyle Secondary and Surrey’s Elgin Park. Lionheart Vancouver Sevens champions St. George’s will be looking to knock Shawnigan off their perch, as will Okanagan reps Kelowna and Fraser Valley champs Yale Secondary of Abbotsford. The boys competition will run from 1:00pm Saturday to 6:30pm. Sunday’s qualifying schedule is underway at 10:00am with the finals set for Sunday afternoon; Shield Final (2:40pm), Bowl Final (3:05pm); Plate Final (3:30pm) and the Cup Final at 4:30pm.

Pool A: Shawnigan Lake, Elgin Park, Argyle, Lord Byng

Pool B: St. George’s, Clarence Fulton, Oak Bay, Clayton Heights

Pool C: Kelowna, SMUS, Robert Bateman, Magee

Pool D: Yale, West Van, GP Vanier, Brentwood

FULL SCHEDULE (See attached)

For tournament updates check back to www.bcrugby.com and follow us on twitter @bcrugbyunion

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!