TimesColonist 10K

Louise Hodgson-Jones

April 26, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The TC10K will once again see a strong elite athlete field participating this Sunday, April 28.

The 2012 champion Kip Kangogo will be competing – he also won in 2010, as will the 2011 winner, Willy Kimosop. Vancouver Sun Run winner Paul Kumugul and Vancouver Island Race Series winner Geoff Martinson will also be contending for a podium spot. The women’s field will see returning winners Lisa Harvey and Lucy Smith, and Jen Millar, Vancouver Island Race Series women’s winner.

The men’s field looks to be an exciting contest with the top four all predicting a 29 minute finish. Kangogo won this year’s Sporting Life 10K in Toronto in 28:56, so is right on form to challenge the course record, set in 1995 by Simon Chenowya (28:47). Kumugul ran 29:04 just last week at the Sun Run and is aiming for sub 29 minutes. His PB is 28:00, set in 2005. Victoria’s Martinson, fresh off the Island Series title, where he won six of the eight races, set a PB of 30:46 at Cobble Hill 10K. His goal is 29:30. Kimosop ran 29:29 to win the TC10K in 2009 and 29:51 at this year’s Sun Run. He has a PB of 28:50 and is aiming for a sub 29:30.

The men’s top 10 also includes David Jackson from Abbotsford, and Kenya’s Bernard Onsare who now trains in Calgary. The masters field could see an interesting battle between Jim Finlayson, who since turning 40 has recorded some impressive times, and Kevin O’Connor, TC10K Masters winner for the last two years. Closely behind them will be Bruce Deacon and Craig Odermatt.

The women’s field sees some new faces and some returning champions. Jane Murage from Kenya ran a 34:11 last year and is aiming for sub 32:30. Victoria’s Catrin Jones ran 35:57 at Cobble Hill 10K this year and has a goal of sub 35:30. Vancouver’s Sabrina Wilkie ran 36:16 in last year’s TC10K and was second in both the Harriers Pioneer 8K and the Bazan Bay 5K this year. Jen Millar, who won three of the races in the Vancouver Island Races Series, subsequently taking the overall women’s title, will be in strong contention for a top three spot. Melissa Ross and Claire Morgan are also in the top 10, alongside past TC10K Masters champion Lisa Harvey and six-time TC10K winner Lucy Smith.

The TC10K is Canada’s third largest 10-kilometre race. At close of online registration on Wednesday April 24, 11,841 had registered. Individuals can still register at Race Package Pick up from 12 noon – 6 pm Friday April 26, and 10 am – 6 pm on Saturday April 27 at the Race Expo at Crystal Gardens, 713 Douglas Street. The start times for Sunday are 7:50 am for the wheelchair and visually impaired athletes and 8 am for the main start. For more information see: www.tc10k.ca