WHL Awards And Bantam Draft Fast Approaching


Jeff Hubert

April 26, 2013, Calgary, AB (ISN) – The 2013 WHL Awards Luncheon is set for next week, as the WHL prepares to salute the best of the 2012-13 regular season.

The 2013 WHL Bantam draft is also scheduled for next week as the WHL Clubs select the top Bantam-aged players. Both events can be seen live via Webcast on www.whl.ca. Both annually events to be webcast LIVE


The WHL Awards, held annually to recognize the WHL’s best performers, will be held in Calgary, AB, in the Sundance Room at the Deerfoot Inn on Wednesday, May 1st.

The list of nominees for the 2013 WHL Awards includes many worthy candidates who enjoyed memorable performances throughout the 2012-13 WHL regular season.

The WHL’s most coveted award is the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy, presented annually to the WHL Player of the Year. This year’s finalists for the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy are forward Adam Lowry of the Swift Current Broncos, representing the Eastern Conference, and forward Justin Feser of the Tri-City Americans, representing the Western Conference.

Lowry enjoyed a strong season for the Swift Current Broncos, appearing in all 72 games while scoring a team-leading 45 goals and 43 assists for 88 points to go with a +18 rating and 102 penalty minutes. Lowry’s considerable contributions to the Broncos helped the Club make the WHL playoffs for the first time since the 2009-10 season. The Husky WHL Player of the Month for December, Lowry was named to the WHL Eastern Conference First All-Star Team.

Feser, a Red Deer, AB, native, enjoyed an outstanding season for the Americans, leading them to their seventh consecutive season with 40 or more victories. In his 20-year-old campaign, Feser scored 44 goals and 62 assists for 106 points along with a +20 rating while appearing in all 72 games for the Americans. Twice named the Denny’s WHL Player of the Week, Feser was also named the Husky WHL Player of the Month for February after collecting 24 points in just 11 games.

Among other 2013 WHL Awards nominees are the two finalists for the WHL Rookie of the Year. One of 17-year-old forward Leon Draisaitl, the Eastern Conference’s finalist, and 18-year-old defenceman Seth Jones of the Portland Winterhawks, the Western Conference’s finalist, will go home with the Jim Piggott Memorial trophy.

The 2013 WHL Awards Luncheon will also see the presentation of the Bill Hunter Memorial trophy for the WHL Defenceman of the Year, the Daryl K. (Doc) Seaman Memorial trophy for WHL Scholastic Player of the Year, the Brad Hornung trophy for WHL Most Sportsmanlike Player, the Del Wilson trophy for WHL Goaltender of the Year, the Dunc McCallum Memorial trophy for WHL Coach of the Year, the Lloyd Saunders Memorial trophy for WHL Executive of the Year, the Doug Wickenheiser Memorial trophy for WHL Humanitarian of the Year, the Allen Paradice Memorial trophy for WHL Top Official, and the award for WHL Marketing.

Over the years, the WHL has presented awards to many players who have gone on to stardom in the NHL and in international play.

Past winners of the Four Broncos Memorial Trophy include current NHL stars Cam Ward (Red Deer Rebels, 2003-04), Jordan Eberle (Regina Pats, 2009-10) and Jarome Iginla (Kamloops Blazers, 1995-96), and NHL legends such as Joe Sakic (Swift Current Broncos, 1986-87 & 1987-88), Mike Vernon (Calgary Wranglers, 1981-82 & 1982-83), Bryan Trottier (Lethbridge Broncos, 1974-75) and Bobby Clarke (Flin Flon Bombers, 1968-69). Last year’s winner was forward Brendan Shinnimin of the Tri-City Americans.


The Western Hockey League will conduct its annual Bantam Draft on Thursday, May 2nd, at the Deerfoot Inn in Calgary, AB.

The WHL Bantam Draft is the first opportunity for WHL Clubs to replenish their systems with graduating Bantam-aged players. The order of selection for the first round of the draft is determined through a weighted lottery consisting of the six non-playoff teams. The draft order is based on the inverse overall standings from the regular season.

The 2013 WHL Bantam Draft will see the Vancouver Giants select first overall. The Draft begins at 8:30AM MDT.