Huskies Announce 18 Football Recruits


Nicole Betker

May 2, 2013, Saskatoon, SK (ISN) – University of Saskatchewan Huskie football head coach Brian Towriss announced 18 new faces to the squad for the 2013 season Thursday at the 13th Annual Dogs’ Breakfast.

This year’s recruiting class features some of the best high school and junior football players in the province and Western Canada. These players are just some of the new athletes who will be in Huskies’ uniforms for the 2013 season.

“Spring camp gives us an opportunity to introduce our systems and evaluate and compare the incoming players with the veterans on our roster,” said Towriss. “Some of these players will contribute right away, others need a year to adapt to college football, but all will have a positive impact on the team.”

The Huskies added proven winners with five former Saskatoon Hilltops set to join the team in 2013. All five were members of last season’s Canadian Bowl champion Hilltops’ squad. Kyle McGinnis and Matt Leung will join the team on the offensive side of the ball. McGinnis led the Hilltops in receiving last season with 42 catches for 622 yards and two touchdowns, earning a spot on both the PFC All-Star and CJFL All-Canadian Teams. Leung, a 6-4, 310 offensive lineman, was also recognized as a PFC All-Star and CJFL All-Canadian in 2012.

Saskatchewan will welcome three Hilltops on defense in Michael Waldron, Dylan Kemp, and Clayton Sarich, all three were named PFC All-Stars in 2012. Waldron forced and recovered two fumbles and had one interception to go along with 25 tackles in the 2012 campaign. Kemp was second on the team in tackles last season with 27 and added seven more on special teams. Sarich, a hard-nosed defensive tackle, will look to add toughness up front for the Huskies.

The Huskies will also welcome PFC All-Star Mark Ingram of the Regina Thunder to the squad. Ingram, one of four defensive backs in this years recruiting class, recorded two interceptions, a fumble recovery and 21 tackles last season in Regina’s defensive backfield.

“It’s always nice to add a few top recruits from junior football,” said Towriss. “The CJFL players are physically mature and we expect them to fill some immediate needs on both sides of the ball. “

This year’s high school class features a number of standouts from across Western Canada.

Touted as one of the top receivers to come out of Saskatchewan in years, Mitch Hillis joins older brother Kit in the Huskies receiving corps. The Holy Cross High School product led his team to a second straight city championship in 2012, racking up 20 receptions for 799 yards and 10 touchdowns along the way. The Huskies added two more Saskatchewan receivers in Evan Hardy’s, Kieran Johnston and Melfort’s, Curtis Peutz.

Joining the Huskies by way of Ross Sheppard High School in Edmonton are Garrett Meek and Chase Quewezance. Meek, a 6-3, 250 pound defensive end, is considered one of the top defensive line prospects in western Canada. On the opposite side of the line of scrimmage is Meek’s 6-3, 255 pound high school teammate Quewezance. Also joining the team from out of province is offensive lineman Mason Dick (Kildonan East, Winnipeg). Dick was named a Canada Cup All-Star in 2012 and was recognized as the top high school lineman in Manitoba last season.

Saskatchewan continues to add home grown talent with 15 of 18 recruits playing their high school or junior football in the province. Among the local talent are Team Saskatchewan standouts Preston McIntyre (defensive end, Evan Hardy Souls), Jesse Gordon (defensive back, St. Joseph’s Guardians) and Eric Verity (linebacker, Aden Bowman Bears). Also from Saskatchewan, Cass Follensbee (offensive lineman, Vanier, Moose Jaw), Brandon Dazzan (defensive back, Bishop Mahoney Saints) and Lance Bashutsky (running back, Wynyard).

“We are very excited about our recruiting class,” said Towriss. “We were able to address some immediate needs and find some skilled big body guys for the future.”

All recruits, as well as returning players, suit up in Spring Camp beginning Thursday at 6 p.m. at Griffiths Stadium in PotashCorp Park.

Recruits announced:

1. Lance Bashutsky – RB, Wynyard Composite, Wynyard

2. Brandon Dazzan – DB, Bishop James Mahoney High School, Saskatoon

3. Mason Dick – OL, – Kildonan East Collegiate, Winnipeg, Man.

4. Cass Follensbee – OL, Vanier Collegiate, Moose Jaw

5. Jesse Gordon – DB, St. Joseph’s High School, Saskatoon

6. Mitch Hillis – SB, Holy Cross High School, Saskatoon

7. Mark Ingram – DB, Regina Thunder

8. Kieran Johnston – WR, Evan Hardy Collegiate, Saskatoon

9. Dylan Kemp – LB, Saskatoon Hilltops

10. Matt Leung – OL, Saskatoon Hilltops

11. Kyle McGinnis – SB, Saskatoon Hilltops

12. Preston McIntyre – DE, Evan Hardy Collegiate, Saskatoon

13. Garrett Meek – DE, Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton

14. Chase Quewezance – OL, Ross Sheppard High School, Edmonton

15. Curtis Peutz – WR, Melfort Comprehensive, Melfort

16. Clayton Sarich – DT, Saskatoon Hilltops

17. Eric Verity – LB, Aden Bowman Collegiate, Saskatoon

18. Michael Waldron – DB, Saskatoon Hilltops