Oil Kings Haul In Two Major WHL Awards

Oil Kings Logo

May 1, 2013, Calgary, AB (ISN) – A pair of Edmonton Oil Kings were honoured at the Western Hockey League annual Awards Luncheon in Calgary Wednesday.

20-year old veteran and 4-year Edmonton Oil King Dylan Wruck becomes the first player in modern franchise history to capture a year end individual award as the league’s Most Sportsmanlike Player. The Saskatoon native takes home the 2013 Brad Hornung Trophy for his accomplishment. General Manager Bob Green was named the WHL Executive of the Year and will have his name etched on the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy for the second year in a row.

“It’s a real honour to receive such a prestigious award,” said Wruck. “I take a lot of pride playing a 2-way game and part of that means always playing smart and staying out of the penalty box. I’m really thankful to the coaching staff for giving me a lot of responsibility and the ice time that goes with that. This honour means a lot to me and I’m proud to be an Oil King.”

Wruck returned this season from an upper body injury that sidelined him during the 2012 WHL playoff run. He ended the 2012-13 regular season second in team scoring with 85 points including 22 goals and 63 assists in 68 games. Wruck’s total this season broke the Oil Kings record of 60 assists posted by Michael St.Croix in 2011-12. The 20-year old player was an integral part of the Oil Kings number one ranked power play and led the WHL with 36 power play assists. Wruck’s 85-point season ranks him second on the all-time Oil Kings record list for points in a single season. Former recipients of the Brad Hornung Trophy include NHL prospects Mark Stone, Tyler Johnson, Tyler Ennis and Kris Russell.

This is marks the second year in a row that Green has been named the WHL Executive of the Year. He has been the General Manager of the Oil Kings since their re-entry into the WHL in 2007. Under Green’s guidance, the Oil Kings have recorded back-to-back 50-win seasons including a franchise record 51 wins and 108 points in 2012-13.

“Once again I am honoured to be awarded the Lloyd Saunders Memorial Trophy, this is an award that I share with our organization as a whole.” said Green. “It’s a reflection of the efforts of our entire franchise and is a credit to Assistant GM and Director of Player Personnel Randy Hansch and our entire scouting staff.”

Green’s Oil Kings squads have earned consecutive trips to the WHL Championship series as the Husky Eastern Conference Champions.

– 2012 & 2013 Eastern Conference Championships

– 2011-12 Scotty Munro Memorial Trophy awarded to the WHL Regular Season Champions

– 2011-12 & 2012-13 Eastern Conference Regular Season Championship

– 2011-12 & 2012-13 Central Division Championship

– Back to back 50 win seasons and the highest point total (108) in modern franchise history