Miva Boxwood Criterium Results


Peter McCaffery

May 3, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – With the race underway, the ladies stayed together until the first prime (sprint) which was won by Charlene, coming up the outside of the group. Glenda edged out Mykelti to take second and Jessica was content to draft behind the others.

Miva Boxwood Criterium 130430
Organised by Mid Island Velo Association
Women’s event
15 lap points race
points every 5 laps (5,3,2); double points on last lap.

Soon after the sprint, the fourteen year old Vipyrs rider made a strong effort and opened up a small gap which soon grew fifteen seconds. Still comfortably out in front, she won the second prime, with Mykelti beating Glenda for second place.

Charlene by this time had dropped way behind the rest and it was left to Mykelti and Glenda to work together and try to catch Jessica. But she was now into time trial mode and continued to make time on the duo. She finished first in 27′ 11″, having won fifteen points, while Mykelti took second, twenty-six seconds back and ended up with eleven points. Glenda finished third, a further three seconds in arrears, her points score totalling ten. Charlene brought up the rear, a further fifty-seven seconds back and ended up with the five points she won in the first sprint.

Jesiica goes to the Victoria Velodrome twice a week, benefits from expert coaching and is a fine example of what a structured road and track programme can do.


Jessica Reynolds Vipyrs 15

Mykelti Berg MIVA 11

Glenda Harling Cowichan 10

Charlene Hay MIVA 5


Men’s Youth Event

30 lap Points Criterium

points every ten laps, double points for final sprint

The men’s race had a total of nineteen starters, with three of them in the under seventeen youth category. For the first ten laps, the pack stayed intact, cruising at forty-two kph just two riders off the pace, The first prime was won by Ian Smith, with Menno Jongsmain second and Stephen Struthers in third. This trio had been driving the pack and deserved all the points

However, in the next lap, Menno opened up a small gap and was joined by hard man Ian. The pair stayed out in front for the next six laps, at one point having a twelve second advantage but the buch was working hard and on lap seventeen, the race came back together. At this point, Comox Valley Cycling Club’s Ray Wagner surged out the front, taking Vipyrs juniors Brodie Hay and Mark Grant with him.

This break looked dangerous so the main bunch set out to catch them and three laps later, all the riders were together again. But not before the trio had scooped the second sprint points between them.

With the final ten laps still to go, Ian and Menno again attempted an unsuccessful breakaway move Almost immediatly they were caught, veteran Ray Wagner broke from the pack with only Brodie Hay able to stay with him. Soon they were twenty seconds up. They held this for the next four laps but, with the finish only four more laps ahead, the main group gobbled them up. Now the sprinters started setting up for the final prime at the finish and a chance of winning the double points available. Hard-working Menno led a group of six, including Simon Struthers, Ian, Ray and youngsters Brodie and Mark who were having a remarkable day.

With the bell signalling the final lap, all came together once more but, as they came around the last fast corner and down the tqwo hundred and fifty metre straight to the line, Ian, Brodie and Chris Cameron had a slight lead on the pack. At the line, Chris edged past Ian with one final effort and won the ten points for the final sprint. Ian finished only a quarter of a whell behind and Brodie took third ahead of the remnants of the pack, who were spread out behind.

Brodie and Mark, with brother James Grant, who stayed with the seniors the entire race, are more examples of a good training and coaching programme. Brodie especially, has improved beyond recognition in the last yhear and now shows the ability and determination of a real athlete.

Name Club Points Pos.

Ian Smith MIVA 11 1st.

Dr. Chris Cameron MIVA 10 2nd.

Ray Wagner CVCC 5 3rd.

Brodie Hay Vipyrs 4 4th.

Menno Jongsma MIVA 3 5th.

Paul Thompson MIVA 3 6th.

Steve Struthers Tri BC 2 7th.

Mark Wieler MIVA/Arrowsmith 2 8th.

James Grant Vipyrs 9

Evan Earp-Jones OBB Wheele4rs 10

Kyle Waring MIVA 11

Kirby Villeneuve MIVA 12

Mark Grant Vipyrs 13

Justin Mark Steed Cycles 14

Mike Sevcov Cowichan 15

Dr. John Lam MIVA 16

Bill McMillan MIVA lapped 17

Michel Gill MIVA Lapped 18

Quentin Wicks MIVA DNF

All riders who did not score points were placed according to their finishing order on the last lap

Thanks to volunteers Larry Reynolds, Steve Grant, Andrea Hunter, Al Henderson and Iain Hay for looking after the marshaling, lap board and bell and registration.

Judy Villeneuve took some good photos – here


The next MIVA criterium on the Boxwood Circuit is on Tuesday, May 14th. At 6.30pm So come on out and watch some great bike racing!