Louis Daignault (ISN)

May 8, 2013, Ottawa, ON (ISN) – Volleyball Canada announced today its 14-member national junior team following a selection camp which took place at the national training centre in Gatineau, Que., from May 2-7.

Twelve athletes from this U21 roster will ultimately represent Canada at the FIVB World Junior Championship August 22 to September 1 in Ankara and Izmir, Turkey.

A total of 39 players battled for the spots on the team under the supervision of head coach Dave Preston of Chatham, Ont., and his assistants Brad Poplawski of Edmonton and Nathan Janzen Hamilton.

There are six returning players from last year’s squad: Milan Nikkic of Calgary, Stephen Maar of Aurora, Ont., Ryley Barnes of St. Paul, Alta., Jarrid Ireland of Winnipeg, Danny Demyanenko of Toronto and Alex Russell of Surrey, B.C.

Last year’s highlight was a silver medal at the U21 NORCECA Championship. The Canadians lost to the Americans in the final as both teams qualified for the 2013 U21 World Juniors.

The new additions for 2013 are John Goranson of Red Deer, Alta., Jeremy Davies of Calgary, Brad Gunter of Courtenay, B.C., Casey Schouten of Winnipeg, Bruno Lortie of Ottawa, Jayson McCarthy of Oshawa, Ont., Gabriel Chancy of Montreal and Jean-Philippe Desjardins of Gatineau, Que.

The team will train in Gatineau from June 24 to July 4 and continue its training in Hamilton until July 12. The team will compete at an important international event prior the worlds, the U21 Pan Am Cup July 12-20 in Costa Rica. Training resumes in Hamilton on July 25 and the team departs for Turkey August 15.

Volleyball Canada’s 2013 Men’s National Junior Team (sorted by province):

Alberta (4): Milan Nikkic, Calgary; Ryley Barnes, St. Paul; John Goranson, Red Deer; Jeremy Davies, Calgary.

British Columbia (2): Brad Gunter, Courtenay; Alex Russell, Surrey.

Manitoba (2): Casey Schouten, Winnipeg; Jarrid Ireland, Winnipeg.

Ontario (4): Bruno Lortie, Ottawa; Jayson McCarthy, Oshawa; Danny Demyanenko, Toronto; Stephen Maar, Aurora.

Quebec (2) : Gabriel Chancy, Montreal; Jean-Philippe Desjardins, Gatineau.