UVic-Logo web-(1)

By Ali Lee, Vikes Communications

May 10, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The University of Victoria Vikes women’s golf team will be one of 27 teams competing at the 2013 NAIA women’s golf national championship, hosted May 21-24 at Wilderness Ridge Golf Club in Lincoln, Neb.

The Vikes women qualified as the No. 6 at-large berth after they earned the 12th seed in the coach’s polls.

Eighteen teams automatically qualified for the 19th annual championship after winning a team title in one of the NAIA’s conference, independent or unaffiliated group tournaments, while nine individual qualifiers help make up the 144-player field.

The Vikes women finished third at the Association of Independent Institutions (A.I.I.) conference championship after carding a team score of 615. Veterans Megan Woodland and Brynn Tomie led the charge, as the pair tied for ninth place with a two-round score of 149. The UBC Thunderbirds dominated the conference championship, sweeping the standings with a team score of 576 to earn the A.I.I.’s lone automatic berth to nationals.

Joining the Vikes and Birds from the A.I.I. will also be California State-San Marcos, who qualified for the No. 2 at-large berth.

Woodland and Tomie will not be alone in Nebraska, as the rest of the Vikes contingent is made up of Michaela Misener, Michaela Abey and Emily Nicol. Misener finished 14th at the regional championship, while Abey and Nicol finished tied for 17th and 19th, respectively.

In 2012, the UBC Thunderbirds defeated SCAD Savannah by two strokes to win the national title, while Woodland was the individual champion after a three-round score of 73-70-76. SCAD Savannah returns to the tournament after earning a ticket via their win at the Sun Conference Tournament. They have also been the top-ranked team for the NAIA golf coaches’ polls for the past four polls.


2013 Women’s Golf National Championships Team Qualifiers



Baker (Kan.)

Heart of America Athletic Tournament Champion

Bellevue (Neb.)

At-Large No. 8

Bethel (Ind.)

Crossroads League Tournament Champion

Bethel (Tenn.)

Unaffiliated Group No. 2 (GCAC/KIAC/TranSouth) Tournament Champion

British Columbia

Association of Indepndent Institutions Tournament Champion

Cal State San Marcos

At-Large No. 2

Concordia (Ore.)

Unaffiliated Group No. 1 (CalPac/Cascade/GSAC) Tournament Champion

Cumberlands (Ky.)

Mid-South Tournament Champion

Dakota Wesleyan (S.D.)

Great Plains Athletic Tournament Champion

Doane (Neb.)

Host Berth

Embry-Riddle (Fla.)

At-Large No. 3

Grand View (Iowa)

Midwest Collegiate Tournament Champion

Lee (Tenn.)

Southern States Athletic Tournament Champion

Lewis-Clark State (Idaho)

Frontier Tournament Champion

Lindsey Wilson (Ky.)

At-Large No. 9

Lubbock Christian (Texas)

At-Large No. 1

Madonna (Mich.)

Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Champion

Northwood (Fla.)

At-Large No. 7

Northwood (Texas)

Unaffiliated Group No. 3 (KCAC/RRAC) Tournament Champion

Oklahoma City

Sooner Athletic Tournament Champion

Olivet Nazarene (Ill.)

Unaffilated Group No. 4 (A.I.I./CCAC) Tournament Champion

SCAD Atlanta (Ga.)

Appalachian Athletic Tournament Champion

SCAD Savannah (Ga.)

The Sun Tournament Champion

USC Beaufort

At-Large No. 5

Victoria (B.C.)

At-Large No. 6

Wayland Baptist (Texas)

At-Large No. 4

William Woods (Mo.)

American Midwest Tournament Champion

2013 Women’s Golf National Championships Individual Qualifiers



Ava Lourenco, Biola (Calif.)

Individual At-Large Selection

Christian Liggin, Coastal Georgia

Individual At-Large Selection

Hannah Griffin, Freed-Hardeman (Tenn.)

Unaffiliated Group No. 2 (GCAC/KIAC/TranSouth) Tournament Individual Medalist

Jackie Mee, Carroll (Mont.)

Frontier Tournament Individual Medalist

Jessica MacPhee, Thomas (Ga.)

2012 All-Tournament Team Returner

Jordan Schaardt, Peru State (Neb.)

Heart of America Athletic Tournament Individual Medalist

Megan Garrison, Indiana Tech

Wolverine-Hoosier Athletic Tournament Individual Medalist

Sarah Gilliard, Coastal Georgia

Individual At-Large Selection

Trish Gibbens, College of Idaho

Individual At-Large Selection