BC U23 President’s XV to host Canada U20s at Klahanie Park

BC Rugby_Logo_small

Andrew Smith

May 15, 2013, Vancouver, BC (ISN) – The Canadian Under-20 men’s national team will play their final exhibition game of the 2013 season at Klahanie Park on Thursday afternoon against British Columbia’s Under-23 President’s XV.

Fresh off a two game sweep of the USA Junior All-Americans in Blaine, Minnesota, this week’s match will be Canada’s final opportunity for fine-tuning ahead of their May 23rd departure for the Junior World Rugby Trophy in Chile.

4:30pm Canada U20 vs BC U23 Provincial Team

Klahanie Park, West Vancouver

Having dropped both 2012 fixtures against eventual JWRT champions USA, the 2013 Canadian squad are firing on all cylinders after posting 26-16 (May 8) and 32-19 (May 11) victories against their southern rivals.

In their most recent fixture on May 11, six starters were from BC including try scorers Nathan Yanagiya (UVic Vikes), Jordan Reid-Harvey (Capilano RFC) and Pat Kay (UVic Vikes). BC reps on the current squad also include Neil Courtney (UBC Thunderbirds), Connor Hamilton (UBC Thunderbirds), Charlie Thorpe (UBC Thunderbirds), James Pitblado (UVic Vikes), Alex Mascott (UBC Thunderbirds), MacBryan Bos (UVic Vikes), Haydn Evans (UVic Vikes), Jorden Sandover-Best (UBC Thunderbirds), Ryan March (Abbotsford RFC) and Justin Douglas (Abbotsford RFC).

Canada will be looking to replicate the Americans’ 2012 success and by winning the JWRT, could earn promotion to the top flight Junior World Rugby Championship, featuring the elite 12 national programs across the globe.

BC’s U23 squad will feature a number of Canada U20 graduates and products of the BC Rugby Academy. After sitting dormant for a number of years, the U23 program was revived in 2012 and went 1-1 against touring UK University sides. In June, the U23s defeated St. Andrew’s University 57-25 at Brockton Oval and then fell 24-13 to Durham University three weeks later at Klahanie Park.

“We have been working with [Canada U20 coach] Mike Shelley to set the game up and give his squad another local competitive game prior to the main event,” said BC Rugby Provincial Coach and Development Manager Dave Brown. “We are hoping to make it an annual event and to build on the BC U23 program from 2012.”

“We waited until after the past weekend’s club finals to see who was still available and player injury and unavailability have forced some late changes to team personnel. However, we will still have some current U19s who did not make the cut for this year’s Canada Group along with graduates from last season’s BC U19 program and former Canada U20 players,” added Brown. “Junior national team graduates include Sean Ferguson, Adam Zaruba, Matt Yanigiya, Luke Campbell and Alex Kam.”

Kick off for Thursday’s match is set for 4:30pm in West Vancouver. Starting lineups will be posted when made available.

BC U23 Squad (Starting lineup TBC)

Paul Ahn (UBC Thunderbirds / Abbotsford RFC)

Jorden Sandover-Best (UBC Thunderbirds / Abbotsford RFC)*

Macbryan Bos (UVic Vikes / Castaway Wanderers RFC)*

Luke Campbell (UVic Vikes / James Bay AA)

Scyler Dumas (Vancouver Rowing Club)

Sean Ferguson (UBC Thunderbirds)

Riley Ilnicki (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Alex Kam (UBC Thunderbirds / Richmond RFC)

Jamie Kelly (Surrey Beavers AA)

Mike McDonald (Capilano RFC)

Brian Murphy (Burnaby Lake Rugby Club)

Liam Murphy-Burke (UBC Thunderbirds / Bayside AA)

Jeff Nishima-Miller (UVic Vikes / Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Tomas Pynn (UVic Vikes / Capilano RFC)

Brock Staller (UBC Thunderbirds / Meraloma Rugby Club)

Clayton Thornber (Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Reid Tucker (UVic Vikes / Capilano RFC)

Shea Wakefield (UVic Vikes / Castaway Wanderers RFC)

Quinton Willms (Western Washington University / Bayside AA)

Matt Yanagiya (Capilano RFC)

Adam Zaruba (Capilano RFC)

*Denotes Canada U20 players dressing for BC on Thursday

BC U23 Team Staff

Head Coach – Dave Brown

BC U19 Coach – Kris de Scossa

UBC Coach – Kaz Futawatari

Canada U20 Squad (Starting lineup TBC)

Lukas Balkovec, (UVic Vikes) Kitchener, ON

MacBryan Bos, (UVIC Vikes) Victoria, BC

Neil Courtney, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC

Charles DeBove, (SABRFC/James Bay Athletic Association) St. Sauver, QC

Justin Douglas, (Abbotsford Rugby Club) Abbotsford, B.C.

Haydn Evans, (UVIC Vikes) Victoria, BC

Jack Fitzpatrick, Ireland

Jason Galbraith, (Brandon Barbarians/Meralomas) Minnedosa, MB

Connor Hamilton, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC

Lucas Hammond, (Toronto Nomads), Toronto, ON

Matt Heaton, (SABRFC/James Bay Athletic Association) Chateauguay, QC

Sawyer Herron, (UVic Vikes) Oakville, ON

Patrick Kay, (UVic Vikes) Duncan, BC – Captain

Johnny Laplaca, (Barrie RFC) Barrie, ON

Ryan March, (Abbotsford Rugby Club) Abbotsford, BC

Alex Mascott, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC

Daniel Mathie, (Oakville Crusaders) Oakville, ON

Conor McCann, (Balmy Beach Rugby Club) Toronto, ON

Adam McQueen, (Banff Bears) Banff, AB

Shane O’Leary, (Young Munster) Munster, Ireland

James Pitblado, (UVic Vikes) Vancouver, BC

Jordan Reid-Harvey, (Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC

Thomas Roche, (Brandon Barbarians/Meralomas) Brandon, MB

Djustice Sears-Duru, (Leicester Tigers) Oakville, ON

Jack Smith, (Peterborough RFC) Peterborough, ON

Charlie Thorpe, (UBC Thunderbirds) Vancouver, BC

Peter Van Buren, (Calgary Canucks) Calgary, AB

Jacob Webster, (Lindsay RFC) Lindsay, ON

Nathan Yanagiya, (UVic Vikes/Capilano RFC) Vancouver, BC

Rugby Canada Staff:

Mike Shelley – Head Coach

Graeme Moffatt – Assistant Coach

Todd Silverthorn – Team Manager

Anthony Dixon – Team Doctor

Jessica Smith – Athletic Therapist

Lorna Barry – Strength and Conditioning Coach/Analyst