Birks and Hoogland earn first Subaru Series Title

SubaruTriSeries logo

Rachel Macatee
May 26, 2013, Shawnigan Lake, BC, Canada (ISN) – Over 600 athletes descended upon Shawnigan Lake today for the first Subaru Western Triathlon Series event of the season.

The High School students led the day with the first-ever race of its kind in the country: the Western Canadian High School Championships. Race Director Sarah Malerby said “the high schools really added to the excitement of the event; it was really fun to watch the youth prepare for their first triathlon and have their families here to cheer them on”. It was quite a battle with some of the podium finishing times having to be split to 100th of a second and be confirmed by photograph to determine a placement. All in all 35 different schools from 3 provinces participated and 4 scholarships of $500 were awarded to the top grade 12 students. Carsten Lapointe and Megan Kinghorn claim the titles in the inaugural Western Canadian High School Championships.

In the elite Half Iron race, Justin Birks of Penticton, BC, had an impressive pro debut besting defending champion Adam O’Meara. “This race gets better because it gets bigger every year”, said O’Meara. A course change in the Long Distance event received rave reviews as athletes were taken further into the stunning west coast rainforest north of the monumental Kinsol Trestle. The pro women had a very tight race. Although two-time Ironman 70.3 champion Tenille Hoogland led from start to finish, past U23 National Team member Janet Neilsen stayed closed and was narrowly edged out. Hoogland swam a record-breaking 24:55 beating out all the men in the Half Iron distance as well.

The next stop on the Series is the Saunders Subaru Victoria Triathlon on June 16th that features Ironman Canada qualifying spots.

Pro Division

Half Iron:


1. Justin Birks – Penticton, BC – 4:07:17

2. Adam O’Meara – Victoria, BC – 4:10:53

3. Brendan Naef – Vancouver, BC – 4:20:38


1. Tenille Hoogland – Ladysmith, BC – 4:37:05

2. Janet Nielson – Victoria, BC – 4:41:50

Western Canada High School Championships

Super Sprint:


1. Noah Beglaw – Keremeos, BC – 44:30

2. Foster Dolling – Port Coquitlam, BC – 45:47

3. Josiah Ney – Gold River, BC – 45:47


1. Desirae Ridenour – Cowichan Bay, BC – 47:51

2. Hannah Henry – Victoria, BC – 48:34

3. Abby Speirs – Brentwood Bay, BC– 48:35



1. Carsten Lapointe – Vancouver, BC – 1:03:27

2. Devin Chambers – Innisfail, AB – 1:04:43

3. Brennen Smith – Regina, SK – 1:04:45


1. Megan Kinghorn – Victoria, BC – 1:09:54

2. Maya Munzar – Cobble Hill, BC – 1:10:13

3. Grace Thompson – West Vancouver, BC – 1:15:20