Four Huskies to Take Part in First CFL Training Camps


Daniel Herrick

May 30, 2013, Saskatoon, SK (ISN) – Four Saskatchewan Huskies will get their first taste of professional football as CFL training camps get underway this weekend across the country.

Charlie Power, Levi Steinhauer, Bryce McCall and Drew Burko will look to show their skills at main camps after attending rookie camps this week. It is the first training camp for all four players.

Power caught 18 passes for 231 yards and two touchdowns for the Huskies last season after converting to receiver from linebacker. The 6-3 Okotoks, Alta. native will once again learn a new position during the offseason, switching to fullback as he enters camp with the Stampeders. Power was selected 28th overall in this year’s draft and will join former Huskie Keenan MacDougall at camp.

Steinhauer, a 6-3 defensive end, made 30 tackles and five sacks as a Huskie in 2012 and was the 40th overall pick of the Saskatchewan Roughriders. The Moose Jaw, Sask., native also contributed on special teams for the Huskies as the team’s long snapper.

McCall joins the Roughriders looking to earn a roster spot for the upcoming season. In his final season as a Huskie he racked up 38 tackles and added two more interceptions. McCall finished his CIS career tied at the top of the career interceptions list.

Burko heads to his first professional training camp with the Roughriders as part of the CFL non-import quarterback development program. The young pivot has the opportunity to learn from CFL veterans and the coaching staff to improve his skills entering his second year of eligibility with the Huskies.

With the addition of two more Huskies to the roster the Roughriders continue to add local talent, increasing the total number of Huskies on the roster to seven. There will be 16 University of Saskatchewan Huskies at training camps as they open up this weekend.

Griffiths Stadium in PotashCorp Park will be home to the Roughriders training camp beginning June 2.

The CFL preseason commences June 12 while the regular season kicks off June 27.