Rameses Langston recognized with Gerald McGavin Coaching Award

BC Rugby_Logo_small

Andrew Smith

May 30, 2013, Vancouver, BC (ISN) – Rameses Langston has been selected by BC Rugby as the 2012 recipient of the Gerald McGavin Coaching Award.

In partnership with the Canadian Rugby Foundation and BC Rugby premier sponsor TrueBlue, Langston has been awarded a two-week professional development experience in New Zealand with the Wellington Rugby Football Union.

Through funding from a Canadian Rugby Foundation endowment and TrueBlue’s sponsorship, the Gerald McGavin Coaching Award provides an annualized and individualized mentoring program with New Zealand’s Rugby Union High Performance Coaches. While in Wellington this July, Langston will also be partnered with a local premier club side, each of which has a full time development officer.

“Rameses has been heavily involved with player development on the North Shore where he has worked with Championship winning teams at the Capilano RFC and Carson Graham Secondary School,” said Dave Brown, BC Provincial Coach and Development Manager. “He headed up the very successful Vancouver North PRC (Provincial Regional Championship) U16 Program for a number of years before joining the BC U16 Program in 2010 when he worked alongside Head Coach Jeff Williams with the B-squad that won the Bronze medal in Calgary. In 2011, he and Jeff Williams moved to the U18 Men’s program where he has won consecutive Gold Medals in 2011 and 2012 in Calgary and Lennoxville, respectively.”

In 2012 Langtson moved to UBC to take up a coaching position at the university level and has also continued his involvement at the age grade level with Rugby Canada’s U17 program.

“Rameses has earned a reputation as forwards coach but is becoming more rounded in his coaching knowledge,” added Brown. “He has attended BC Rugby’s professional development workshops on a regular basis and is keen to his extend his knowledge of the game.”

Past recipients of the Gerald McGavin Coaching Award include Tom Larisch (2007); Adam Roberts (2008); Jason Young (2009); Martin Jones (2010) and Jeff Williams (2010).

Gerald McGavin Coaching Award

The Gerald McGavin Coaching Award is the result of an endowment held with the Canadian Rugby Foundation. The award recognizes rugby coaches from British Columbia who play a significant role in shaping young athletes both on and off the field. Gerald McGavin is a former BC athlete who represented his province against world-renowned sides including the Barbarians, Australia, British Lions and New Zealand Universities. Now a Member of both the Order of Canada and Order of BC, McGavin created the Award because of his love for the sport and to acknowledge the role rugby played in shaping his life.

Wellington Rugby Football Union

Founded in 1879, the Wellington RFU is the official governing body of rugby union in the city of Wellington, the capital of New Zealand. A total of 18 clubs comprise the Wellington RFU, with the top teams competing for the Jubilee Cup, the region’s premier trophy. Wellington has the longest continuous existence of any club in New Zealand. The Lions are Wellington’s senior provincial representative side which competes in the ITM Cup against 13 other provinces from across the country. The Lions have won the provincial competition four times since its inception in 1976. Wellington is also the home of the world-renowned Hurricanes Super Rugby franchise which plays its rugby out of the 36,000 capacity Westpac Stadium. Born out of the advent of professional rugby at the end of 1995, nine New Zealand provincial rugby unions came together to form the Wellington Hurricanes for the start of the inaugural Super 12 competition in 1996. The franchise was New Zealand’s largest, representing more than 920,000 people. Famous players to have donned the Hurricanes jersey include Jonah Lomu, Christian Cullen and Tana Umaga. Current All Blacks recently on the squad include Piri Weepu, Ma’a Nonu, Julian Savea, Aaron Cruden, Andrew Hore, Cory Jane, Victor Vito and Conrad Smith.