Oil Kings Jarry One Step Closer To World Junior Team

Oil Kings Logo

May 31, 2013, (ISN) – Hockey Canada, in partnership with the Canadian Hockey League, announced Thursday the 19 goaltenders that will attend the eighth-annual Program of Excellence goaltending camp taking place June 13-16 at the Markin MacPhail Centre at Canada Olympic Park in Calgary.

Six of the 18 goaltenders invited to the camp are from the Western Hockey League including Edmonton Oil Kings netminder and top NHL prospect, Tristan Jarry.

Thirteen goaltenders in the under-20 age category (candidates for Canada’s National Junior Team) and six in the under-18 category (candidates for Canada’s National Men’s Under-18 Team) will get the opportunity to work with a number of instructors during the four-day camp.


Antoine Bibeau, Charlottetown (QMJHL)

François Brassard, Quebec (QMJHL)

Eric Comrie, Tri-City (WHL)

Philippe Desrosiers, Rimouski (QMJHL)

Chris Driedger, Calgary (WHL)

Zachary Fucale, Halifax (QMJHL)

Tristan Jarry, Edmonton (WHL)

Austin Lotz, Everett (WHL)

Spencer Martin, Mississauga (OHL)

Matt Murray, Sault Ste. Marie (OHL)

Jake Paterson, Saginaw (OHL)

Mackenzie Skapski, Kootenay (WHL)

Brandon Whitney, Victoriaville (QMJHL)


Julio Billia, Chicoutimi (QMJHL)

Alex Bureau, Cape Breton (QMJHL)

Payton Lee, Vancouver (WHL)

Matt Mancina, Leamington (GOJHL)

Mason McDonald, Acadie-Bathurst (QMJHL)

Brent Moran, Niagara (OHL)


Click here for an on-ice schedule for the Program of Excellence Goaltending Camp

“We have had terrific success with this camp in its first seven years, and we are excited to have Canada’s best young goaltenders work with some of the top instructors in the game,” said Brad Pascall, Hockey Canada’s vice-president of hockey operations/national teams. “We want to give these young goaltenders every opportunity to develop and prepare for international competition, and we feel this camp is a step in the right direction.”

The camp will include both on-ice and off-ice sessions. David Marcoux (Hockey Canada) will lead a group of seven instructors: Sebastien Farrese (Belleville, OHL), Scott Gouthro (Cape Breton, QMJHL), Piero Greco (Kitchener, OHL), Dusty Imoo (Seattle, WHL), Marco Marciano (Blainville-Boisbriand, QMJHL), Dustin Schwartz (Edmonton, WHL) and Jimmy Waite (Chicoutimi, QMJHL).

The camp will be open to the public, free of charge.