CBC Is The Exclusive Home To World Show Jumping Competitions From Spruce Meadows

133
CBC

Simon Bassett – CBC Canada

June 4, 2013 (ISN) – The world’s best show jumping events return to CBC for another summer of elite competition from the International Ring at Spruce Meadows, beginning with coverage from the ‘National’ on Saturday, June 8 at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) on CBC-TV, CBCSports.ca and bold.

Championship show jumping from the International Ring at Spruce Meadows on CBC also features coverage of other marquee competitions including the ‘North American’ and the ‘Masters’.

CBC’s broadcast team for this season’s Spruce Meadows events includes host and play-by-play commentator Scott Russell (@SportsWkndScott), analysts Deanna Phelan (@Deanna_Phelan) and Mac Cone splitting duties across the events, and backstage reporter Signa Butler (@signabutler). Spruce Meadows’ Senior Vice President, Ian Allison serves as field-level reporter providing additional insights into the course, jumps, and horse and rider pairs.

Each Spruce Meadows event from the ‘National’ and ‘North American’ on CBC features the best riders from Canada and around the world competing against the course and the clock for the right to be crowned the champion. Homegrown international stars Eric Lamaze and Ian Millar highlight impressive fields at each Spruce Meadows event. The ‘Masters’ will see the best athletes from the world’s top show jumping nations compete for world-leading prize money and both individual and team acclaim on the world show jumping stage.

The ‘National’ is the opening tournament of the 2013 Spruce Meadows Summer Series and features the best Canadian and international show jumping athletes and horses and includes the Canadian Show Jumping Championship. CBC’s coverage includes the CN Reliability Grand Prix at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) on June 8, along with the ATCO Structures and Logistics Cup on June 9 at 3 p.m. ET (12 noon PT). In addition to live television coverage, both events will also be carried live on CBCSports.ca and bold. The Nexen Cup on June 15 at 1 p.m. ET (10 a.m. PT) on CBC-TV and CBCSports.ca completes coverage of the ‘National’.

Closing out the 2013 Spruce Meadows Summer Series is the ‘North American’, with the ATCO Power Queen Elizabeth II Cup on July 6 at 4 p.m. ET (1 p.m. PT) on CBC-TV and CBCSports.ca, where the continent’s best compete in the North American Show Jumping Championship. CBC also has coverage of the Cenovus Energy Classic on July 13 at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT). Rounding out CBC’s 2013 Spruce Meadows coverage is the ‘Masters’ on September 7 and 8, featuring the Spruce Meadows BMO Nations’ Cup and the CN International Grand Prix. The BMO Nations Cup is a team event featuring the world’s best show jumping nations going head-to-head in a primetime showdown on CBC-TV and CBCSports.ca.

Viewers can connect with CBC’s coverage from Spruce Meadows online at CBCSports.ca/sprucemeadows,, on Facebook (facebook.com/CBCSports) and on Twitter via @CBCSports using #SpruceMeadows.

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!