Rowing Canada Aviron Senior Team Announceme​nt

rowing canada

Jackie Skender

June 20, 2013 (ISN) – Rowing Canada Aviron is pleased to announce its senior team for the Aegon Koninklijke-Holland Beker, in Amsterdam, Netherlands, June 29 and 30, and the 2013 Samsung World Rowing Cup in Lucerne, Switzerland, July 12 to 14, 2013.

“It’s exciting as it is the first team event for this quadrennial,” said Rowing Canada Aviron High Performance Director, Peter Cookson. “The expectation is this will be a learning experience for the athletes and coaches, as we move forward and develop crews for this year’s World Championships in Korea in late August.”

The Holland Beker regatta will serve as a warm-up race for the World Cup, annually one of the top elite international events on the racing calendar. “Both regattas will provide excellent race experience for this group of athletes,” explained Cookson.

The list includes 2012 Olympians Natalie Mastracci (silver medalist), Patricia Obee, Will Crothers (silver medalist), Will Dean, Michael Braithwaite and Kevin Kowalyk; 2012 Paralympic coxswain Kristen Kit; and 2012 Olympic team alternates Cristy Nurse, Carolyn Ganes and Steve van Knotsenburg

Final crew lineups will be announced just prior to the World Cup regatta in early July.

Women’s Sweep Group:

Cristy Nurse (Georgetown, ON) – Ottawa Rowing Club

Christine Roper (Victoria, BC)- Western Rowing Club

Sarah Black (Ottawa, ON)- Ottawa Rowing Club

Natalie Mastracci (Thorold, ON)- St. Catharines Rowing Club

Susanne Grainger (London, ON)- London Rowing Club

Carolyn Ganes (Saskatoon, SK) – Ottawa Rowing Club

Jen Martins (Toronto, ON)- Don Rowing Club

Lisa Roman (Vancouver, ON)- University of the Fraser Valley

Kristen Kit (St. Catharines, ON)- University of British Columbia Rowing

Women’s Sculling Group:

Antje Von Seydlitz (Smithers, BC) – University of Victoria Rowing Club

Alyssa Weninger (Unity, SK) – University of Victoria Rowing Club

Rosie DeBoef (Victoria, BC) – Ottawa Rowing Club

Kate Goodfellow (Ottawa, ON) – Ottawa Rowing Club

Emily Cameron (Summerside, PEI) – Don Rowing Club

Kerry Shaffer (Welland, ON) – South Niagara Rowing Club

Lightweight Women’s Sculling Group:

Patricia Obee – (Victoria, BC) – Victoria City Rowing Club

Lightweight Men Sweep Group:

Graham Schenck (St. Catharines, ON) – St. Catharines Rowing Club

Eric Woefl (St. Catharines, ON) – Brock University Rowing Club

Brendan Hodge (Delta, BC) – Burnaby Lake Rowing Club

Rares Crisan (Mississauga, ON) – Don Rowing Club

Lightweight Men’s Sculling:

Nick Pratt (Kingston, ON) – Kingston Rowing Club

Men’s Sweep Group:

Will Crothers (Kingston, ON) – Kingston Rowing Club

Will Dean (Kelowna, BC)- Brentwood College School

Spencer Crowley (Lantzville, BC)- Brentwood College School

Steve Van Knotsenburg (Beamsville, ON) – Victoria City Rowing Club

Mike Evans (London, UK) – Victoria City Rowing Club

Men’s Sculling Group:

Matt Buie (St. Catharines, ON) – St. Catharines Rowing Club

David Wakulich (St. Catharines, ON) – Ridley Graduate Boat Club

Michael Braithwaite (Duncan, BC)- University of Toronto Rowing

Kevin Kowalyk (Winnipeg, MB) – Winnipeg Rowing Club

Mike Harowicz (Oakville, ON) – University of Toronto Rowing

Jamie Abbass (Happy Valley – Goose Bay, NFLD) – Fredericton Rowing Club

Josh Morris (Victoria, BC) – University of Victoria

Coaches: John Keogh (London, ON), Al Morrow (London, ON), Martin McElroy (Victoria, BC), Howie Campbell (Victoria, BC)