CBC has exclusive Canadian coverage of the FIFA Confederat​ions Cup Brazil 2013 final on Sunday


Simon Bassett

June 28, 2013, (ISN) – The eyes of the soccer world will be on Rio this Sunday, June 30, as Brazil and Spain square off in the FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 final and CBC has exclusive Canadian coverage of the championship match.

As Canada’s official broadcaster for FIFA events, CBC has a full afternoon of soccer coverage from Brazil highlighted by the final at 5 p.m. ET (2 p.m. PT) on CBC-TV and online at CBCSports.ca.

Both Brazil and Spain enter Sunday’s championship match with unblemished 4-0 records through the group and knock-out stages. As host, Brazil will have an obvious home advantage but Spain has looked the part as the world’s top-ranked team throughout the tournament and present a formidable challenge.

Coverage this Sunday also includes the third place match from Salvador as Italy takes on Uruguay at Arena Fonte Nova beginning at 11:30 a.m. ET (8:30 a.m. PT). Italy suffered a tough loss against Spain in the semifinal, having lost in a shootout after giving the Spaniards all they could handle during the match. The Azzurri will have to regroup quickly when they take on a Uruguay side that narrowly missed a trip to the final after losing to Brazil 2-1 in their semifinal in which they missed penalty kick early on then found themselves on the wrong end of Brazil’s winning goal in the 86th minute.

Following the conclusion of the third place match, CBC-TV will air the retrospective documentary, The Story of the Confederations Cup, at 2 p.m. ET (11 a.m. PT). The documentary chronicles the history of the FIFA Confederations Cup, encapsulating the history of the tournament including its developments, best moments, stand-out players and greatest goals.

One of just three “nation vs. nation” soccer tournaments along with the FIFA World Cup™ and the Olympics, FIFA Confederations Cup Brazil 2013 is seen as a precursor next year’s 2014 FIFA World Cup Brazil™, which also airs on CBC.

Soccer fans can connect with CBC’s coverage leading up to and throughout the tournament online at cbc.ca/fifaconfederationscup, on Twitter (@CBCSports) using #CBCSoccer and on Facebook (facebook.com/cbcsports).

Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
Email address
First Name*
We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!