7 BCHL players selected at NHL Draft


Brent Mutis

July 2, 2013, (ISN) – On Sunday, seven BCHL players were selected in the 2013 NHL Entry Draft held at Prudential Center in New Jersey.

Of those, the highest selection was Surrey Eagles forward Adam Tambellini who was taken in the third round, 65th overall by the New York Rangers.

Also, linemates Wade Murphy and Jedd Soleway of the Penticton Vees were selected eight spots apart in the seventh round.

The seven players selected ties the record from the 2007 draft for the most taken from the BCHL since the NHL draft went to seven rounds in 2005.

Here is the complete list of BCHLers drafted:

Adam Tambellini – 3rd round, New York Rangers

David Pope – 4th round, Detroit Red Wings

Evan Campbell – 5th round, Edmonton Oilers

Dane Birks – 6th round, Pittsburgh Penguins

Wade Murphy – 7th round, Nashville Predators

Jedd Soleway – 7th round, Phoenix Coyotes

Nolan De Jong – 7th round, Minnesota Wild

Overall, there were 12 CJHL players drafted. Two AJHL players were taken (Carson Soucy and Mike Williamson), two from the OJHL (Matt Buckles and Troy Josephs) and one from the CCHL (Blaine Byron).

The 2004 draft, which was nine rounds, continues to hold the record for BCHL players taken with 12. Kyle Turris continues to be the highest BCHL and CJHL draft pick ever selected. He went third overall to the Phoenix Coyotes in 2007.