Brett Levis makes PDL Team of the Week


Ryan McQuillan – Highlanders Communications; with files from the PDL News Release

July 3, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The Premier Development League named Victoria Highlanders FC striker Brett Levis as part of the PDL’s Team of the Week. Levis had two goals and an assist this weekend and hopefully can stay hot with playoffs coming up. Defenseman Tyler Hughes and keeper Elliot Mitrou received honorable mention.

PDL News Release

The PDL announced its Team of the Week for the ninth week of the season today, with Ocean City Nor’easters forward Frank Tweneboa being honored as the Player of the Week. Tweneboa, a Super-20 League All-Tournament Team selection in 2011, had a hat trick and two assists to power the Nor’easters past the Central Jersey Spartans as the battle for the playoffs in the Mid Atlantic Division continued.

Tweneboa, a key catalyst to his side’s success in the past two seasons, put in a dominant display against the Spartans on Sunday night, setting up Ken Tribbett for the opening goal in the 11th minute. Tweneboa then scored in the 35th minute to give his side a 2-0 lead at the break before adding his second at the hour mark. After recording the assist on Timothy Mulgrew’s goal with 16 minutes to go, Tweneboa capped his performance by completing his hat trick 10 minutes later to keep the Nor’easters in the hunt as they defend their division title.

The Ottawa Fury had a pair of players selected to the Team of the Week after picking up three victories without conceding a goal. Goalkeeper Chad Bush had all three shutouts, giving him five in six appearances this season, while forward Carl Haworth had three goals and four assists in the three games, the four assists all coming in a 5-0 win against Vermont on Wednesday night.

Haworth and Tweneboa were joined in the Team of the Week attack by St. Louis’ Vadim Cojocov, who scored twice as the Lions handed the Thunder Bay Chill their first defeat of the season.

Panama City Beach’s Taian de Souza leads a quartet of defenders after he scored both goals to lead the Pirates to a 2-1 victory against the Mississippi Brilla on June 25. He is joined by Real Colorado’s Lorne Donaldson, who had a goal and an assist in the Foxes’ 2-0 win against WSA Winnipeg on Saturday night, and Ventura County’s Harrison Delbridge, who scored the game-tying goal in stoppage time as the Fusion earned a 1-1 draw against FC Tucson. Ocala’s Ben Knight is also honored after playing a key role in the Stampede’s 5-1 win against Orlando City U23 on Saturday night.

Austin’s Andres Cuero is again honored after scoring two goals and adding an assist in the Aztex’s 4-0 win against the Houston Dutch Lions, and he is joined by Oklahoma City’s Danny Frid, who scored twice in OKC’s 6-2 win against West Texas on Saturday night. Victoria’s Brett Levis is the third selection after he scored in both of the Highlander’s games this past weekend, helping his side earn four points as it moved six points clear in the Northwest Division.






Chad Bush


Had three shutouts as Fury moved into first in Northeast


Taian de Souza

Panama City Beach

Scored both goals as Pirates rallied past Mississippi


Harrison Delbridge

Ventura County

Had late game-tying goal as Fusion earned draw with Tucson


Ben Knight


Had a goal and played well defensively in 5-1 win against Orlando


Lorne Donaldson

Real Colorado

Led Foxes to pair of shutout victories against Winnipeg


Brett Levis


Played a key role as Highlanders took four points on the road


Danny Frid

Oklahoma City

Scored twice to lead OKC to big win against West Texas


Andres Cuero


Had two goals and an assist as the Aztex remained undefeated


Frank Tweneboa

Ocean City

Had a hand in all five goals as Ocean City defeated Spartans


Carly Haworth


Powered Fury’s attack as side took three victories


Vadim Cojocov

St. Louis

Had two goals as Lions

Honorable Mention – Austin: Aaron Guillen, Kris Tyrpak; Baltimore: Geaton Caltabiano, Pete Caringi; Boston: Cole DeNormandie, Matt Keys;Carolina: Mahdi Ali, Peyton Ford; CFC Azul: Mark Grant, Luke Perry; Chicago Fire: Tyler Miller; Colorado: Oliver gore, Jamie Gilbert; Fresno: Paul Islas; Jersey: Tommy McNamara; Kitsap: Ben Truax; LA Misioneros: Christian King, Vincent Weijl; Laredo: Juan Nava, Juan Ibarra; Long Island:Dominick Sarle, Tyler Botte; Michigan: Matt Walker; No. Virginia: Joel Helmick, Eber Martinez; Ocala: Kyle Breitmeyer, Bruno Castro; Ocean City:Ken Tribbett, Tapiwa Machingueta; Oklahoma City: Nicolas Alberto, Kevin Cabello; Ottawa: Shaun Foster; Panama City Beach: Ricardo Oliveira, Drew Russell; Reading: Mario Pinto, Dante Marini; SC United: Jack Metcalf, Robert Beebe; Southern West Virginia: Billy Forbes, Jon Grant; St. Louis: Paul Keys; Tampa Bay: Joao Ehlers, Jack McVey; Thunder Bay: Pedro Adan; Tucson: Dallas Jaye; Victoria: Elliot Mitrou, Tyler Hughes;Virginia Beach: Devin Pierce; Washington: Sean Russell, Christian Roldan; West Virginia: Predrag Ivanovic; Western Mass: Alencar Junior.