Ryan Smith Returns To Victory Square

Western-Speedway logo520x280 copy

Written by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

July 4, 2013, Langford, BC (ISN) – Race #3 of the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Wednesday Night Fever with the Hornet Series took place at Western Speedway on Wednesday night with three Trophy Dashes, eight Heat races, a B-Main, and the Feature event of the night.

Dash wins went to Sam Lagan, Marty Anctil, and Ryan Smith. Heat Race wins were captured by Sam Lagan, Ryan Turko, Daen Barry, Marty Anctil, Daryn Cahill with two, Cam Stanfield, Mike Nyeste, and Ryan Smith.

Connor McCollum and Kevin Mazur led eleven cars to the green flag for twenty laps of racing in the B-Main. The top four would then transfer to the Feature event of the night. Tristan Gait, one of the faster cars, was late getting to the track and had to finish in the top four to have a shot at a Feature event win and he was not long making the most of the B-Main. On lap four he bolted to the lead followed by Sam Lagan and Kevin Mazur. By lap seven, Kyle Fournier moved up to the third position while Gait started to run away from the field. On lap eighteen, Fournier got by Lagan to claim the second position and followed Gait to the chequered flag. Gait, Fournier, Lagan, and Mike Nyeste all earned the right for the Feature event.

Tristan Gait wins Hoenet B-Main event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Seventeen drivers, led by Ryan Turko and Bruce Duffas, took the green flag for thirty-five laps of racing in the Feature event of the night. By lap two, Turko had the lead followed by Charlie South and Taylor Orr while the faster cars were trying to get through the field. By lap eight, Daryn Cahill jumped up to the second position followed by South, Mike Halls moving into the fifth position. Up front, Turko completed checked out from the field building a healthy lead while behind him the fast cars were bumping and grinding their way forward. By lap sixteen, Turko was coming up on heavy traffic as the next four drivers had clear track ahead and that bunch included Ryan Smith, Daryl Cahill, Cam Stanfield, and Mike Halls and running fast. On lap twenty-four, the top five cars were now running bumper to bumper and trying to get through the slower cars. On lap twenty-seven, Smith made the first move and drove to the inside of Turko and grabbed the lead.

Cam Stanfield places 2nd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Mike Halls places 3rd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

There was some contact and Daryl Cahill was forced into the dirt on turn three and four and lost several positions while Stanfield moved into the second position. On lap thirty-one the yellow came out as several cars got together in turn four sending Chris Davis airborne and up on two wheels. Daryl Cahill, after running quite well entered the pits and done for the night. On the double file restart, Smith had Marty Anctil on the outside for the resumption of green flag racing and he quickly went back to the lead with Stanfield glued to the bumper. Smith was able to hang on to the lead and took the chequered flag first ahead of Stanfield, Mike Halls, Charlie South, and Daryl Cahill. Stanfield, Smith, Halls, and the Cahill brothers moved up dramatically in the points chase as well.

Ryan Smith Wins Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

The next event for the Wednesday Night Fever event is scheduled for July 10th and sponsored by Steve Copp Construction. The next regular Saturday race is scheduled for July 6th that will feature the Richlock Rentals Non Wing Sprint Cars, the Island Stock Cars, the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stocks, and the Island Dwarf Cars.