Bishop nails World Championsh​ip A standard while Belleau-Bé​liveau and Brannen punch ticket to Worlds

athletics canada

Athletics Canada

July 6, 2013, Victoria, BC (ISN) – The 2013 National Track League (NTL) wrapped up in fine fashion last night at the Victoria International Track Classic in Victoria, B.C. NTL titles were on the line in ten events for a total of $100,000 in prize money.

NTL event winners received $4,500 and a beautiful championship trophy. Second place in each NTL event took home $2,500 while third earned $1,500.

In the women’s Running Room 800-metres Melissa Bishop of Eganville, Ont., registered a World Championship A standard of 1:59.76 to earn 16 points in the standings and finish first with 40 points. Karine Belleau-Béliveau of Montreal, Que., was third in the race in a World Championship B standard time of 2:01.13. The World Championship B standard combined with her second place at the World Trials in Moncton two weeks ago punches Karine’s ticket to the 2013 World Championships. The ageless wonder Diane Cummins was second in the race in 2:01.12.

In the men’s TIMEX 1500-metres Nate Brannen of Cambridge, Ont., won in a World Championship B standard time of 3:36.84 to not only secure the NTL title in the event but also confirmed his spot on the World Championship team.

In the men’s shot put Dylan Armstrong of Kamloops, B.C., won with a throw of 21.09-metres to earn 16 points and bring his NTL season total to 32 points. Justin Rodhe, also of Kamloops, B.C., finished third in the final to earn 10 points and take the series title in the event with a total of 36 points.

Philip Osei of Toronto, Ont., finished second in the men’s 400-metres in a time of 46.12 behind 2012 Olympic silver medalist Josh Mance who won the race in 45.85. As the top Canadian in the race Osei earned 16 points in the NTL standings and locked up the 2013 title and trophy.

In the women’s pole vault Heather Hamilton of Mississauga, Ont., took the win with a height of 4.40-metres. Heather’s point total of 32 points secured first place in the women’s pole vault standings and earner her the 2013 NTL title in the event.

Sultana Frizell of Perth, Ont., took the women’s hammer throw with a meet record of 68.89-metres to finish on top in the NTL standings with 40 points and earn the NTL trophy and $4,500 prize.

Everything was on the line going into the 100-metre hurdles with Jessica Zelinka of London, Ont., entering with 20 points, Ashlea Maddex of Ottawa, Ont., with 18 points and Angela Whyte of Edmonton, Alta., at 16 points. Whyte won the race in 12.96 earning 16 points, Zelinka was second in 13.09 and earned 12 points while Maddex placed fourth overall but was the third ranked Canadian in 13.66 to earn 10 points. Whyte and Zelinka both finished with 32 points in the standings with Whyte earning the NTL title and associated prize money based on tie-breaker which is placing at the NTL final.

In the women’s 100-metres Crystal Emmanuel of Scarborough, Ont., finished first in the final race in a time of 11.62. Emmanuel topped the women’s 100-metre standings with 36 points.

In the men’s 100-metres Justyn Warner of Markham, Ont., entered the final race with 27 points to Dontae Richards-Kwok’s 22 points. Richards-Kwok won the final in 10.34, Reginald Dixon of the USA was second in 10.39 while Warner placed third in 10.57. The final standings were extremely close with Warner taking the title with 39 points to Richards-Kwok’s 38 points.

Mike Mason of Nanoose Bay, B.C., secured top spot in the men’s high jump standings with a first place finish with a mark of 2.20-metres. Mason took top spot in the standings with 30 points.•

  • Victoria International Track Classic results

    Your sports. Your teams. The ISN Daily Digest.

    Sign up to the ISN Daily Digest and sit back while we pick the previous day’s best headlines and speed them straight to your inbox every morning.
    Email address
    First Name*
    We abide by all applicable emailing laws including 100% CAN-SPAM/CASL/US CAN-SPAM Act compliance. No spam!