Daryl Cahill Wins Hornet Feature Event

Western-Speedway logo520x28

Story by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

July 11, 2013, Langford, BC (ISN) – Western Speedway hosted round four of the Steve Copp Construction sponsored Hornet Wednesday Night Fever event on July 10th with three Trophy Dashes, nine Heat races, a B-Main and the Feature event of the night.

Thirteen year old Tanner Jacobs, Chris Santos, and another youngster Tristan Gait took Trophy Dash wins and #56 Sam Lagan, #67 Ian Walker with two, #08 Daryn Cahill, #55 Kyle Fournier, #78 Mike Halls also with two, #45 Ryan Smith sporting a new paint scheme, #55 Kyle Fournier, and #57 Tristan Gait won the Heat races.

The B-Main was scheduled to run twenty-five laps with the top four drivers transferring to the Feature event with nine drivers looking for those spots. Tanner Jacobs got out to the early lead followed by Sam Logan and Kyle Fournier. On lap four Lagan passed for the lead while Fournier moved up to second. Ron McPhee moved into contention running in the third position a lap later. This started a real good race between Lagan, Fournier, and McPhee. By lap ten, Lagan still had the lead with McPhee running in second and Fournier in third. On lap thirteen, the yellow came out as Chris Santos spun around in turn one. On the double file restart, Lagan had Fournier on his outside for the return to green flag racing with Lagan getting the jump and went back to the lead followed by Fournier and McPhee. McPhee and Fournier ran side by side and bumper to bumper trying to get around Lagan over the remainder of the event. Lagan held on for the win while Fournier took second, McPhee third and Mark Sparling taking the last transfer spot.

DSC00762 (2)
Daryl Cahill wins Hornet Feature  event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Cam Stanfield places 2nd in Hornet  Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Twenty cars lined up for the green flag, led by Ian Walker and Kevin Dawson, for forty laps of racing in the Feature event for the night. Before they completed one lap, several drivers got together with the #24 and Glenn Rand had a car lift the back end of his car off the track and this resulted in a complete restart. Walker got out to the quick start and grabbed the lead followed by Dawson and Mike Halls. Halls took over the second spot by lap four as the field was still in a tight group. On lap eight, the yellow came out again as several other drivers got together. On the double file restart, Walker had Halls on the front row outside and quickly got the lead again as Daryn and Daryl Cahill and Cam Stanfield closed in picking up several positions. On lap ten, Daryn took the lead followed by Daryl and Stanfield. On lap twelve, the yellow came out once again as Ron McPhee spun around in turn one. On the double file restart, Daryn had Ryan Smith share the front row for the resumption of green flag racing. On lap fifteen, Daryn still led while Daryl was left to contend with Smith as they drove side by side. On lap twenty-one, Daryl used a slower car for a pick and went by Daryn for the lead followed by Stanfield who used the opportunity to take over the second spot. Over the next several laps the top four weaved their way through traffic never giving up their position. Daryl Cahill won this event followed by Stanfield, Smith, Daryn, and Bailey Walker rounding out the top five positions.

Ryan Smith places third in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Sam Lagan wins Hornet B-Main in Hornet Series – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

The next Hornet races are scheduled for July 17th and the next regular Saturday event is scheduled for Saturday, July 13 – with the Eve Of Destruction event that features the LORDCO Auto Parts Demo Cars, DemoTrucks, the Bombers, and the Mini Figure 8s. Western Speedway also has Boat Races, a Total Destruction event with Josh (the Crusher) Bekel also involved, a Van Blowup, a Bus Jump, and Fireworks.