Daryl Cahill Takes Another Feature Event:

Western-Speedway logo520x28

Written by Ken Keating – Photos by Illusion Photography (ISN)

July 18, 2013, Langford, BC (ISN) – The Steve Copp Construction sponsored Wednesday Night Fever event with the Hornet Series staged three Trophy Dashes, nine Heat races, a B-Main, plus the Feature event of the night.

Devin Fournier, Kevin Dawson, and Cam Stanfield picked up the Trophy Dash wins while Mike Halls, Daen Barry, Mike Nyeste, Bailey Walker, Daryl Cahill, Devin Fournier with two, Ryan Turko, and Cam Stanfield were the Heat race winners.

Devin Fournier and Sam Lagan led eight cars to the green flag for the start of twenty laps of racing in the B-Main with the top four drivers earning a spot in the Feature event of the night. Fournier got the early jump and went to the lead followed by Mike Nyeste and Ian Walker. On lap four Walker moved into the second spot dropping Nyeste back to third. Through the middle part of the race Kevin Dawson mounted a charge for the last transfer spot held by Sam Lagan but fell back in the late stages. Fournier held on for the win followed by Walker, Nyeste, and Lagan taking the top four positions.

Devin Fournier Wins Hornet B-Main – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

Taylor Orr and Mike Halls shared the front row for the start of the thirty-five lap Feature event with fourteen cars in the field. Ryan Turko took the lead just two laps in followed by Orr and Halls. By lap five Cam Stanfield jumped into the top five positions while moving forward in a hurry along with Bailey Walker. On lap seven Stanfield took over the third position while Walker followed into fourth and Daryl Cahill now moving into the fifth position. On lap eleven, Stanfield moved into second while Mike Halls moved into third with Cahill running fourth and Ryan Smith jumping into the fifth position. The first yellow came out before this lap was complete as one of the cars spun around. On the double file restart, Turko had Cahill on his outside for the resumption of green flag racing.

Ryan Smith places 2nd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

DSC01026 (2)
Cam Stanfield places 3rd in Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN)

Cahill immediately jumped into the lead but could only get around once as the yellow came out again, this time for a major pileup that included Stanfield and others in turn three and four. Again on the double file restart, Daryl now had brother Daryn Cahill on his outside for the green flag and Daryl got the jump quickly and moved back to the lead with Daryn behind him followed now by Ryan Smith and Turko. On lap thirteen, Smith moved up to run in second and he and Daryl started to build a lead on the rest of the field. On lap seventeen, Stanfield moved back into the mix by taking the fourth position. Up front, Cahill and Smith were running bumper to bumper weaving their way through lapped traffic and when the chequered flag dropped Cahill had the win followed by Smith, Cam Stanfield, Daryn Cahill, and Bailey Walker rounding out the top five positions.

Daryl Cahill Wins Hornet Feature event – Photo by Illusion Photography (ISN) 

The next Hornet race is scheduled for Wednesday July 24th. The next regular Saturday event is scheduled for July 20th as O’Dell Slinger Service presents the Rick O’Dell Memorial for The Keg Steakhouse & Bar Driver Challenge Late Model Series (Twin 50’s), the Island Stock Cars running for the Billy Foster 100, the SDL Bins I.M.S. 4 Mini Stocks, and the Island Dwarf Cars.