Lakatos sets IPC World Championship record

athletics canada

Athletics Canada

July 23, 2013, Lyon, France (ISN) – Brent Lakatos of Dorval, Que., continued his strong showing today at the 2013 International Paralympic Committee (IPC) Championship after already having won gold and silver.

His hopes for a third medal are alive and well as he qualified today for the T53 wheelchair 200-metres final in a new IPC Championship Record of 26 seconds. Jean-Philippe Maranda of Sherbrooke, Que., was fourth in his semi-final in a personal best of 27.73 seconds but did not qualify for the final. The final is slated for tomorrow evening local time.

Pamela Le Jean of Halifax, N.S., placed fifth in the women’s F52/53 combined class seated javelin final with a personal best and new Canadian Record of 9.12-metres, “My coaches and I have been working hard, we’re very proud today of the result.” Estela Salas of Mexico took gold with a throw of 10.75-metres.

In the men’s T44 amputee 100-metre final Alister McQueen of Calgary, Alta., finished seventh in a time of 11.84 seconds. Jonnie Peacock of Great Britain took gold in 10.99.

In the men’s F46 classification amputee shot put final Kenneth Trudgeon of London, Ont., finished sixth with a best throw of 13.30-metres. The event was won by Nikita Prokhorov of Russia with a World Record throw of 15.69-metres.

Diane Roy of Sherbrooke, Que., finished fourth in the women’s T54 classification wheelchair 800-metres final in a time of 1:50.51. The race was won in a World Record time of 1:44.44 by American Tatyana McFadden. McFadden’s World Record bests the mark set by Canadian Chantal Petitclerc at the 2008 Paralympic Games of 1:45.19.

In the semi-finals of the men’s T54 wheelchair 200-metres Colin Mathieson of Winnipeg, Man., and Curtis Thom of Ottawa, Ont., both qualified for tomorrow’s final. Mathieson auto-qualified placing second in his semi-final heat in a time of 26.32 seconds. Thom qualified on time with a seasonal best of 25.67, good for third in his semi.

Josh Cassidy of Ottawa, Ont., placed third in his T54 wheelchair 5000-metres semi-final in a seasonal best of 10:22.89 to auto-qualify for tomorrow’s final. Alexandre Dupont of Bradwell, Sask., raced to a sixth place finish in his semi in a time of 10:59.34, he did not qualify for the final.

Kyle Whitehouse of St. Catherines, Ont., set a personal best in the semi-finals of the T38 classification 200-metres. His time of 24.16 seconds qualified him for tomorrow’s final.

Austin Smeenk of Oakville, Ont., crossed the line in 17 seconds even in the first semi-final of the T34 100-metres to advance to tomorrow’s final. Nathan Dewitt of Surrey, B.C., was fourth in the second semi-final in a time of 17.13; he did not qualify for the final.